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Bringing Alcohol Beverages into Wisconsin 
Alcohol Beverage Laws 
Fact Sheet 3115 revenue.wi.gov 

This fact sheet provides information about individuals bringing alcohol beverages into Wisconsin from 
another state or foreign country for personal consumption. It is illegal for individuals to bring alcohol 
beverages into Wisconsin from another state, unless an exception applies. The following information 
explains exceptions that exist allowing individuals to bring intoxicating liquor (including wine) into 
Wisconsin. No exceptions exist for bringing fermented malt beverages into Wisconsin.  

Moving to Wisconsin 

Anyone 21 years of age or older who moves from another state or foreign country to Wisconsin may bring 
with them intoxicating liquor without payment of excise tax, as long as it is part of their household goods. 
Under this exception, there is no limit on the amount of intoxicating liquor that can be brought into 
Wisconsin.  

Traveling From a Foreign Country Back to Wisconsin 

Anyone 21 years of age or older who leaves a foreign country after spending at least 48 hours in that 
country may bring with them up to 4 liters of intoxicating liquor in original, sealed containers without 
payment of excise tax. 

Military Members Traveling to Wisconsin 

A Wisconsin resident, 21 years of age or older, who is also a member of the national guard, US armed 
forces, or a reserve component of the US armed forces; and leaves a foreign country after spending at 
least 48 hours in that country on duty or for training may bring with them up to 16 liters of intoxicating liquor 
in original, sealed containers without payment of excise tax. 

If you are unable to find an answer to your question about winery permits on the department's website, you 
may email, write, or call the department. 

Visit our website:  revenue.wi.gov 
Email:  DORAlcoholTobaccoEnforcement@wisconsin.gov 
Write:  Wisconsin Department of Revenue 
  Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement 
  P.O. Box 8933 
  Madison, WI 53708-8933 
Telephone:   (608) 264-4573 

Any Questions? 

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/home.aspx
mailto:DORAlcoholTobaccoEnforcement@wisconsin.gov
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Created August 16, 2022 

Applicable Laws and Rules 
This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations enacted as of 
August 16, 2022: secs. 125.30, 139.01, 139.02, 139.03, and 139.05, Wis. Stats. 
Laws enacted and in effect after this date, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the 
interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to this date, that is contrary to the information in 
this document is superseded by this document, according to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/prefaces/toc
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