Transfers of Licenses and Permits
Alcohol Beverage Laws
Fact Sheet 3117 revenue.wi.gov

This fact sheet provides information about the transfer of an alcohol beverage license or permit from place
to place or to a receiver in a foreclosure action, and information about the transfer of an alcohol beverage
license from person to person. Alcohol beverage licenses are issued by municipalities for the retail sale of
alcohol beverages. Alcohol beverage permits are issued by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. For
more information on alcohol beverage permits issued by the department, see Fact Sheet 3102 Alcohol
Beverage Permits.

Transfers From Place to Place

Any alcohol beverage license or permit may be transferred to another place within the same municipality,
except as follows:

e Areserve "Class B" license cannot be transferred to another place within the same municipality.

¢ An alcohol beverage warehouse permit, a winery permit, or an intoxicating liquor wholesaler's permit
may be transferred to any place within Wisconsin.

A licensee or permittee is entitled to no more than one transfer during the license or permit year. A
transferred license or permit from place to place is valid only until the expiration date of the license or
permit.

A license transfer may only be issued if the following criteria are met:

e The licensee must complete Form AT-112, Application for Transfer or Retail Licenses from one
Premises to Another, and file it with their municipal clerk.

e The transfer is subject to the approval of the municipal governing body.

e The transfer is complete only upon approval of the governing body, payment of the $10 fee, and
issuance of a new license.

A permit transfer may only be issued if the following criteria are met:

e The permittee must complete Form AB-163, Transfer of an Alcohol Beverage Permit from one
Premises to Another, and file it with the department.
e The transfer is subject to approval from the department.

e The transfer is complete only upon approval from the department, payment of the $10 fee, and
issuance of a new permit.
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https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/3102AlcoholBeveragePermits.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/dorforms/at-112.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/dorforms/ab-163f.pdf

Transfers From Person to Person

Permits: Alcohol beverage permits may not be transferred from person to person.
Licenses:

A municipality may transfer an alcohol beverage license to a personal representative, surviving spouse, or
to a trustee if the licensee dies, becomes bankrupt, or makes an assignment for the benefit of creditors.

The personal representative, surviving spouse, or receiver may continue or sell the business. If the
business is sold or assigned, the license may be transferred to the new owner or assignee at no charge, if
that person qualifies for an alcohol beverage license and obtains approval from the governing body. A
transferred license from person to person is valid only until the expiration date of the license.

If a licensee becomes disabled during the license year, the license may be transferred to their spouse at no
charge, if that person qualifies for an alcohol beverage license and obtains approval from the governing
body.

The licensee must complete Form AT-108, Retail License Transfer - Person to Person, and file it with their
municipal clerk.

Transfers of License to Receivers in Foreclosure Actions

An alcohol beverage license may be transferred to the receiver in a foreclosure action if ordered by a court.
The receiver may not operate under the license in effect at the time of the foreclosure action unless
allowed to do so by the court. The transferred license is valid only until the expiration date of the license.

Any Questions?

If you are unable to find an answer to your question about the transfer of an alcohol beverage license or
permit on the department's website, you may email, write, or call the department.

Visit our website: revenue.wi.qov

Email: DORAIcoholTobaccoEnforcement@wisconsin.gov
Write: Wisconsin Department of Revenue

Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement

P.O. Box 8933

Madison, WI 53708-8933
Telephone: (608) 264-4573

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations enacted as of
August 16, 2022: secs. 125.02 and 125.04, Wis. Stats.

Laws enacted and in effect after this date, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the
interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to this date, that is contrary to the information in
this document is superseded by this document, according to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.
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