

Common Carrier Permits

Alcohol Beverage Laws
Fact Sheet 3121

revenue.wi.gov

This fact sheet provides information about Wisconsin alcohol beverage laws relating to common carrier permits. Generally, no common carrier may transport into or deliver any alcohol beverages in Wisconsin unless they obtain a permit from the Division of Alcohol Beverages (DAB). However, a Wisconsin common carrier permit is not needed to transport or deliver alcohol beverages:

- from a Wisconsin alcohol beverage permit holder to an out-of-state location.
- from a Wisconsin alcohol beverage permit holder to another Wisconsin alcohol beverage permittee or licensee.
- from one out-of-state location, through Wisconsin, to another out-of-state location.
- to a person holding a Wisconsin alcohol beverage license or permit that authorizes the licensee or permittee to legally receive the alcohol beverages.

Allowed Activities

A common carrier permit authorizes the permit holder to transport into or deliver wine into Wisconsin on behalf of a person holding a Wisconsin direct wine shipper's permit or a Wisconsin fulfillment house permit. For additional information, see sec. <u>125.22</u>, Wis. Stats.

Labeling and Shipping Requirements

Any wine shipped directly to individuals in Wisconsin must be clearly labeled to indicate that the package may not be delivered to an underage or intoxicated person. In addition, any wine shipped on behalf of a fulfillment house permittee must be labeled with the following information:

- In capital letters and in a conspicuous location: "CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGE 21 OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY.".
- The name, address, and permit number of the fulfillment house permittee.
- The name, address, and permit number of the direct wine shipper permittee.

Reporting Requirements

Common carrier permittees must file a <u>monthly report</u> with DAB that is due by the 15th day of the following month. The report must include the following information for each shipment of alcohol beverages during the month:

- The name and address of the consignor of the shipment.
- The name and address of the consignee of the shipment.
- The date of the shipment.
- The weight of the alcohol beverages shipped to the consignee, as reported to the common carrier by the consignor.
- The parcel tracking number, waybill number, or other identifying number for the shipment.

Penalties for Violations

The following penalties apply to violations of the law by common carriers:

- A common carrier that fails to obtain a permit is subject to a fine of up to \$10,000.
- A common carrier that ships alcohol beverages other than wine obtained from a Wisconsin direct
 wine shipper permittee or a Wisconsin fulfillment house permittee is subject to a forfeiture of up to
 \$2,000. Additionally, DAB may revoke the permit of any common carrier that commits this violation in
 two or more months of a calendar year.
- A common carrier that fails to submit a monthly report is subject to a forfeiture of up to \$2,000.

Questions?

If you are unable to find an answer to your question on the division's website, you may email, write, or call the division.

Website revenue.wi.gov/pages/AlcoholBeverage/home.aspx

 Email. . .
 DORAlcohol@wisconsin.gov

 Write. . .
 Division of Alcohol Beverages

P.O. Box 8934

Madison, WI 53708-8934

Phone. . . (608) 264-4573

Last updated November 7, 2024