

Common Questions | 2023 Wisconsin Act 73 No-Sale Event Venue Permit

1.	my event venue?1
2.	When does the change to laws about public places go into effect?
3.	As an event venue owner or operator, what are my options to comply with the new public place law?
4.	Lease contracts for events are typically an entire weekend: Friday to Sunday. Is the entire weekend a "day" for purposes of the 6-day, one per month limitation under a No-Sale Event Venue Permit?
5.	A family member is using the event venue for a family wedding. There is no rental agreement and I am allowing use of the event venue for free. Does this event count toward the 6-day, one per month limitations on events under a No-Sale Event Venue Permit?

1. What is a public place and how does that relate to alcohol beverage consumption at my event venue?

Per sec. <u>125.09(1)</u>, Wis. Stats. (effective January 1, 2026), a public place includes a venue, location, open space, room, or establishment that is any of the following:

- Accessible and available to the public to rent for an event or social gathering.
- Held out for rent to the public for an event or social gathering.
- Made available for rent to a member of the public for an event or social gathering.

No owner, lessee, or person in charge of a public place may allow the consumption of alcohol beverages on the property of the public place, unless the person has an appropriate retail license or permit.

2. When does the change to laws about public places go into effect?

On January 1, 2026, any public place that fits the description in Question 1, must obtain the appropriate alcohol beverage license or permit.

3. As an event venue owner or operator, what are my options to comply with the new public place law?

There are two options:

 Obtain an alcohol beverage license from a Wisconsin municipality which will authorize the licensee to make sales of alcohol beverages on the licensed premises. For more information about obtaining a retail alcohol beverage license, see Act 73 Common Questions Event Venue Retail Licensing.

- Obtain a No-Sale Event Venue Permit from the Division of Alcohol Beverages. See Fact Sheet 3122, No-Sale Event Venue Permits, for details about the permit including authorizations, limitations, and qualifications.
- 4. Lease contracts for events are typically an entire weekend: Friday to Sunday. Is the entire weekend a "day" for purposes of the 6-day, one per month limitation under a No-Sale Event Venue Permit?

No. A "day" means one calendar day, so consumption of alcohol beverages must end at 11:59 p.m. Alcohol beverages may only be consumed on one day per month, regardless of whether the lease is for multiple days.

Example: A charitable organization rents the permitted event venue for Friday, October 31, to Sunday, November 2 for a fundraising event. The organization enters the permitted area on Friday to set up for the event. No alcohol beverages are sold or consumed. The event is held on Saturday, November 1. Alcohol beverages are sold and consumed under a Temporary Class B combo license on Saturday from 10 a.m. until 9 p.m. The group tears down the event materials on Sunday, November 2. No alcohol beverages are consumed. This event would count as one of the six allowable days under a No-Sale Event Venue toward the calendar month of November.

Example: An engaged couple rents the permitted event venue for Friday, February 28 to Sunday, March 2. The couple hosts a rehearsal dinner on Friday evening where alcohol beverages are consumed until 9 p.m. The wedding is on Saturday, March 1, and alcohol beverage consumption occurs at the venue from 3 p.m. until 11:59 p.m. The couple tears down the wedding materials on Sunday, March 2. No alcohol beverages are consumed. This event would count as two of the six allowable days under a No-Sale Event Venue Permit toward the calendar months of February and March.

5. A family member is using the event venue for a family wedding. There is no rental agreement, and I am allowing use of the event venue for free. Does this event count toward the 6-day, one per month limitations on events under a No-Sale Event Venue Permit?

No, this event does not count toward the 6-day, one per month limitation under a No-Sale Event Venue Permit. For the venue to be considered a public place at the time of the event, it must be governed by a lease or rental agreement that requires direct or indirect consideration (compensation), in any form.

Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations enacted as of April 7, 2025: Ch. 125, <u>Wis. Stats</u>. Laws enacted and in effect after this date, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to this date, that is contrary to the information in this document is superseded by this document, according to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.

Contact Us

Division of Alcohol Beverages PO Box 8934 Madison, WI 53708-8934

Phone: (608) 266-2526

Email: DORAlcohol@wisconsin.gov