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Applicable Laws and Rules

This document provides statements or interpretations of the following laws and regulations enacted as of
October 25, 2024: chi 71, Wis. Stats., and chs. Tax 1 and 2, Wis. Adm. Code.

Laws enacted and in effect after this date, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the
interpretations in this document. Guidance issued prior to this date, that is contrary to the information in
this document is superseded by this document, according to sec. 73.16(2)(a), Wis. Stats.



https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/prefaces/toc
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/tax

Withholding Tax Update (October 2024)

Withholding Tax Rates

As of the date of this publication, there are no plans to change the withholding tax rates. Current withholding
tax rates are available in Wisconsin Publication W-166, Withholding Tax Guide Effective for Withholding
Periods Beginning on or After January 1, 2022.

Withholding and Filing Requirements of Payments for Agricultural Labor (e.g., H-2A Workers)

Employers who make payments to employees for providing agricultural labor (e.g., H-2A program) are not
required to withhold Wisconsin income tax because these payments are excluded from the definition of
wages under sec. 71.63(6)(b), Wis. Stats. However, if both the employer and employee agree, the
employer may voluntarily withhold Wisconsin income tax from these payments.

The employer is required to file an information return (e.g., Form W-2) with the department if either (1) the
total payments for services performed in Wisconsin during the calendar year are $600 or more, or (2) the
employer voluntarily withholds any amount of Wisconsin income tax.

Note: If the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requires the employer to use a different information return
such as Form 1099-MISC, then the employer must use the IRS form instead of Form W-2 for Wisconsin
purposes. For more information about the federal requirements, see the IRS website: Foreign Agricultural
Workers on H-2A Visas.

Retirement and Pension Payments Exempt from Income Tax Withholding

Pension and retirement income are not wages under Wisconsin law. Therefore, withholding is not required
on retirement and pension payments. However, the recipient may request that the payer withhold
Wisconsin income tax from such payments. The request must be in writing and the amount withheld from
each payment must be $5 or more.

If Wisconsin income tax is not withheld, the recipient may be required to make estimated tax payments.
Generally, individuals that expect to pay $500 or more with their income tax return must make estimated
tax payments. For more information about making estimated tax payments, see the department's website:
Make a Payment.

For more information about retirement benefits, see Publication 126, How Your Retirement Benefits Are
Taxed.

Filing Requirements of Form 1099-R with Wisconsin Withholding

For tax year 2024, all Forms 1099-R with Wisconsin withholding must be filed directly with the department
by January 31, 2025. If you file 10 or more Forms 1099-R, you must file electronically using one of the
filing options in Section 4 of Publication 117, Guide to Wisconsin Wage Statements and Information
Returns.

Note: The combined federal/state filing program, under sec. Tax 2.04(7), Wis. Adm. Code, is not an
acceptable filing option for Forms 1099-R with Wisconsin withholding. See article on page 6: The
Combined Federal/State Filing Program Is Not an Approved Filing Option for Information Returns with
Wisconsin Withholding.

A person (i.e., the "employer") who fails to file Form 1099-R by the due date is subject to a $10 penalty for
each violation, and the failure of the employer may result in the payee's Wisconsin income tax refund being
delayed.


https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb166.pdf
https://www.uscis.gov/working-in-the-united-states/temporary-workers/h-2a-temporary-agricultural-workers
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/71/x/63/6/b
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/foreign-agricultural-workers
https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/foreign-agricultural-workers
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/Pay.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb126.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb117.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc804
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/tax/2/04/7
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Example for Calendar Year 2024:

¢ Individual A receives retirement distributions from Company B.
e Atthe request of Individual A, Company B withholds Wisconsin income tax from the distributions.

e The taxable amount of Individual A's distributions is $50,000, and the amount of Wisconsin
income tax withheld is $3,000.

e On February 1, 2025, Individual A files Form 1 showing:

Description Amount
Net tax $1,800
WI tax withheld ($3,000)

Tax due or (refund) ($1,200)

e Company B files Form 1099-R with the department in April of 2025.

Because Company B filed Form 1099-R after the due date, Company B is subject to the $10 penalty and
Individual A's refund of $1,200 will be delayed until at least March 1.

For more information about filing wage statements (e.g., Form W-2) and information returns (e.g., Form
1099-R), see Publication 117.

Withholding and Filing Requirements of Third-Party Sick Pay

Wisconsin does not follow the federal provisions relating to payments of sick pay made by third parties
(e.g., an insurance company). Wisconsin law provides that when a third-party payer of sick pay makes
payments directly to the employee and the employee has provided a written request to withhold Wisconsin
income tax from those payments, the third-party payer, not the employer, must report and remit the income
tax withheld.

For Wisconsin purposes, the payer of third-party sick pay who withholds Wisconsin income tax must issue
a wage statement (federal Form W-2) directly to the individual who received the sick pay and to the
department. The Form W-2 must report the amount of taxable sick pay and the total amount of Wisconsin
income tax withheld.

For Wisconsin purposes, the employer and the third-party payer have separate reporting and withholding
requirements. The employer and third-party payer should not combine their payments and withholding on
one Form W-2 and one Form WT-7. Instead, the employer and third-party payer should file separate Forms
W-2 and Forms WT-7. Note: Inaccurate returns can result in penalties and refund delays.

Example: Calendar Year

e Individual A is an employee of Company B
¢ Individual A stops working at the end of September because of sickness

e Beginning in October, Individual A receives "sick pay" from a third-party (Company C)
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¢ Individual A has the following wages, sick pay, federal withholding, and Wisconsin withholding:

Date Wages from | Sick Pay from | Federal Income WI Income
Company B Company C Tax Withheld Tax Withheld
January $5,000 N/A $500 $250
February $5,000 N/A $500 $250
March $5,000 N/A $500 $250
April $5,000 N/A $500 $250
May $5,000 N/A $500 $250
June $5,000 N/A $500 $250
July $5,000 N/A $500 $250
August $5,000 N/A $500 $250
September $5,000 N/A $500 $250
October N/A $5,000 $500 $250
November N/A $5,000 $500 $250
December N/A $5,000 $500 $250
Total $45,000 $15,000 $6,000 $3,000

e For federal purposes (see pages 14-16 of IRS Notice 2015-6)

o Company B files Form W-2 showing:
* Federal taxable wages of $60,000 ($45,000 wages + $15,000 sick payments)
= Federal income tax withheld of $6,000
o Company C does not file Form W-2
e For Wisconsin purposes:
o Company B files Form W-2 showing:
= Wisconsin taxable wages of $45,000 ($5,000 * 9 months)
= Wisconsin income tax withheld of $2,250 ($250 * 9 months)
Note: Company B must file Form WT-7 and report the withholding of $2,250 on line 5.
o Company C files Form W-2 showing:
= Wisconsin taxable wages of $15,000 ($5,000 * 3 months)
= Wisconsin income tax withheld of $750 ($250 * 3 months)
Note: Company C must file Form WT-7 and report the withholding of $750 on line 5.

Notice to Employers Using a Payroll Service Provider

Employers may use a payroll service provider (PSP) to file withholding tax returns, pay withholding tax,
and file wage statements and information returns. Wisconsin requires a PSP to register their software and
complete software testing to be approved for e-filing. A list of approved PSPs can be found on the
department’s website: Third-Party Software for Withholding e-File Returns.
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https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/n-15-06.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Withholding/third-party.aspx
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Employers who decide to use a PSP should ensure that the PSP correctly files and pays on their behalf
because the employer is liable for any unpaid taxes, fees, penalties, and interest.

Employers can use My Tax Account to verify the PSP correctly files and pays on their behalf. My Tax
Account is free and provides employers with online access to their filing and payment history.

Employers using a PSP should contact the department immediately when they get a notice for withholding
tax. Call us at (608) 266-2776 or email DORWithholdingTax@wisconsin.gov.

The Combined Federal/State Filing Program Is Not an Approved Filing Option for Information
Returns with Wisconsin Withholding

Persons who participate in the combined federal/state filing program under sec. Tax 2.04(7), Wis. Adm.
Code, are not required to file Forms 1099 with the department because the department receives this
information from the Internal Revenue Service.

Exception: When Wisconsin income tax is withheld, the information return (e.g., Form 1099-R) must be
filed directly with the department using one of the filing options listed in Section 4 of Publication 117, Guide
to Wisconsin Wage Statements and Information Returns. The combined federal/state filing program is not
an acceptable filing option for information returns with Wisconsin withholding.

Example

Facts:
¢ Individual A receives retirement distributions from Company B and Wisconsin income tax is not
withheld from these distributions.

e Individual C receives retirement distributions from Company D and Wisconsin income tax is
withheld from these distributions.

o B and D are required to report the distributions on Form 1099-R.

Company B has the option to file Form 1099-R through the combined federal/state filing program, but
Company D may not file Form 1099-R through the combined federal/state filing program.

Truncated Taxpayer Identification Numbers on Forms W-2 and 1099

As a safeguard against identity theft, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) allows payers to truncate a
payee's taxpayer identification number (SSN, FEIN, or ITIN) on the copy of Form W-2 or 1099 that the
payer gives to the payee. The department follows the IRS treatment.

Caution:

e Payers may not truncate the payee's social security number on any forms filed with the department,
IRS, or Social Security Administration.

e Payers may not truncate their own identification number on any forms given to the payee or filed
with the department, IRS, or Social Security Administration.


https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
mailto:DORWithholdingTax@wisconsin.gov
https://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc804
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/tax/2/04/7
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb117.pdf
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For more information:

o Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 201 (April 2018), page 17, article titled Truncated Payee Social Security
Number

e Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 128

Withholding Deposit Reports (Form WT-6) and Annual Reconciliation (Form WT-7)

Employers filing withholding deposit reports (WT-6s) quarterly, monthly, or semi-monthly cannot submit an
annual reconciliation of Wisconsin tax withheld (WT-7) until all withholding deposit reports have been filed.

The filer will get a rejection or error message fif:

e The total withholding tax reported on the annual reconciliation is more than the total tax reported
on the withholding deposit reports, or

¢ One or more withholding deposits have not been filed. Exception: Withholding deposits can be in
pending status with a future payment date.

This requirement reduces the number of penalties imposed on the annual reconciliation and reduces
appeals. See Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 203 (October 2018).

Electronic Filing Mandate — Forms WT-6 and WT-7

Withholding deposit reports (WT-6s) and annual reconciliation returns (WT-7s) are required to be filed
electronically using an approved submission method, unless a waiver is approved by the department.
Failure to file electronically may result in rejection of your WT-6 or WT-7, potentially resulting in penalties
and/or interest. Electronic filing options include:

Withholding Deposit Reports Annual Reconciliation
(Form WT-6s) Returns (Form WT-7s)

My Tax Account

Third-Party Software

TeleFile — call (608) 261-5340 or (414) 227-3895

E-File Transmission E-File Transmission

ACH Credit — through your financial institution

Notes:

e If your filing frequency is annual, you are not required to file deposit reports (WT-6s). Each year in
November the department evaluates your WT-6 deposits from the last year and determines whether
to change your filing frequency. If your filing frequency changes, you are notified in writing, and a
copy of your letter is available in My Tax Account.


https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/201-04-18-WTB.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-07-03/pdf/2019-11500.pdf#page%3D1
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/WisconsinTaxBulletin/203-10-18-WTB.pdf
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Withholding/third-party.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-whtelefile.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/wt-6-home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/wt-7-home.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/eft2.aspx
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e When completing your annual reconciliation return (WT-7), include the following in the counts and
amounts:

o All W-2s reportable to Wisconsin. This includes paper W-2s with “WI” in box 15 and
electronically filed W-2s with "55" in the state code field.

o Only information returns with Wisconsin withholding (e.g., 1099-R, 1099-MISC, 1099-NEC,
1099-K, W-2G).

e For tax year 2024, the annual reconciliation return (WT-7) must be filed by January 31, 2025.
However, if you close your withholding account before December 31, the reconciliation is due within
30 days of the account cease date.

Form WT-7 — Filing an Amended Annual Reconciliation

An amended annual reconciliation (WT-7) must be filed if an error was made on the original return. If
amending the return to correct withholding amounts reported, corrected wage statements and information
returns must accompany the amended return. The WT-7 will be rejected if you fail to provide the correct
wage statements and information returns. Do not resend previously submitted wage statements and
information returns that do not have corrections to withholding. Be sure to furnish corrected copies of the
wage statements and information returns to the employees and individuals involved and advise them to
file the corrected copies with their income tax returns.

Form WT-7 — Reporting by Financial Institutions and Insurance Agencies

All banks, credit unions, insurance agencies and other employers who withhold Wisconsin income tax from
employee wages, retirement accounts, interest and dividends, or have a third party withhold on their behalf,
must report the total amount withheld from all sources on the annual reconciliation (WT-7). Information
returns (1099-DIV, 1099-INT, etc.) with Wisconsin withholding must also be reported on the WT-7.

Filing Wage Statements and Information Returns
Verify that the Information You File Is Accurate

In a continued effort to fight fraud, the department wants to ensure the information you file matches the
information reported by the payee. Review and follow the requirements in this publication to submit wage
statements (Forms W-2) and information returns (Forms W-2G, 1099-MISC, 1099-R, 1099-NEC, etc.) for
payments made in 2024.

Before filing, verify the payer’s 15-digit withholding tax number, federal employer identification number and
legal name using our account look-up. The department offers preparers the opportunity to verify certain
client-related data via an online data exchange program. Payroll providers can use the withholding data
exchange to verify withholding tax account numbers and filing frequency information, including new filing
frequency data for the upcoming year. Files are acted on as received. Results are returned the next
business day.

Authorized PSPs may use the electronic enrolliment schema to verify account information, including filing
frequency, withholding tax numbers, and legal names. The schema also allows additions to and removals
from your approved client list.

Wage or information returns with incomplete or incorrect information will be rejected. Rejected returns must
be corrected and resubmitted. Incorrect or incomplete returns filed on paper will not be returned. A letter
will be sent asking for correction and resubmission of the corrected forms.
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https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/wtn/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/dataexchange.aspx
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When and Where to File

For tax year 2024, wage statements and information returns must be filed with the department by January
31, 2025. If you file 10 or more wage statements or 10 or more of any one type of information return, you
must file electronically. Electronic filing options include:

e Use approved payroll software.

e Key Forms W-2, 1099-MISC, 1099-NEC, and 1099-R in My Tax Account when filing the annual
reconciliation (Form WT-7).

e Key Forms W-2, 1099-MISC, 1099-NEC, and 1099-R in My Tax Account at any time during the
year. Log into My Tax Account and select "Enter W-2/1099 Information."

My Tax Account makes it easy to submit information returns omitted from previous submissions. It
also provides a user-friendly option for those that don’t have active withholding accounts but must
submit W-2s or 1099s.

e Submit an EFW2 file (for Form W-2) through the department's website.

e Submit an IRS formatted file (for Forms 1099-MISC, 1099-NEC, 1099-R, 1099-K, W-2G, etc.)
through the department's website. Information Returns Intake System (IRIS) schema submissions
will be available after January 1, 2025, with an approved LOI (Letter of Intent.) Filing Information
Returns Electronically (FIRE) formatted files are still accepted through our submission portal.

Note: The only electronic filing options for Form 1099-K with Wisconsin withholding are (1) approved
payroll software, (2) an IRS formatted file that is in the format provided in IRS Publication 1220, or (3) IRIS
schema format for approved providers.

Note: The Wisconsin Department of Revenue does not accept W-2 pdf files for electronic filing. This
method is no longer supported due to the low volume of files received.

If you file fewer than 10 wage statements or fewer than 10 information returns, we encourage you to file
electronically using one of the methods described above. Otherwise, mail the statements and returns to:

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 8920
Madison, WI 53708-8920

Penalties for Filing Late or Failing to File Electronically

Failure to file wage statements and information returns by the due date, including any extension, or filing
an incorrect or incomplete return, will result in a penalty of $10 for each statement or return.

Failure to file 10 or more wage statements or information returns electronically will result in a penalty of
$10 for each statement or return filed by paper.

An appeal of a penalty must be received within 60 days of the penalty notification. Missing wage statements
and information returns must be submitted with an appeal for a failure to file penalty.

Note: The department may not issue a refund to an employed individual before March 1, unless the
individual and individual’s employer have filed all required returns and forms.


https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Withholding/third-party.aspx
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/mta/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/w-2.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/w-2.aspx
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p1220.pdf
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Required Wage Statements and Information Returns

Employers and payers doing business in Wisconsin are required to file wage statements and information
returns with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue for certain payments made in 2024. This includes:

¢ Payments made to Wisconsin residents, regardless of where services are performed.

¢ Payments made to nonresidents for services performed in Wisconsin.

Forms W-2, W-2G, 1099-MISC, 1099-NEC, 1099-R, and 9b, as provided in Chart 1, must be filed with the
department. Other information returns such as Forms 1099-DIV, 1099-INT, and 1099-K are required to be
filed with the department only if Wisconsin tax is withheld.

If you withhold Wisconsin tax from any wage statement or information return, you must file the annual
withholding reconciliation (Form WT-7) by January 31 or, if you discontinue business prior to the end of the
calendar year, within 30 days of discontinuance. For more information about the reconciliation, see Form
WT-7 Instructions.
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Chart 1 — Required Wage Statements and Information Returns

Amount
Form Title What to Report to Due Date?
Report1
9b (A copy of Miscellaneous | Rent or royalty payments $600 or | January 31 tothe
federal Forms W-2, | Income (payments to nonresidents only if more department
1099-MISC, 1099- property located in Wisconsin)
NEC, or 1099-R, as January 31 to payment
appropriate, may Distributions from a retirement, $600 or | recipient
be required instead stock bonus, pension, profit- more
of Wisconsin Form sharing, disability, annuity, IRA, Exception — If
gb)4 Keogh, 401(k), or other similar employment ends before
plan, except distributions from a close of calendar year, to
qualified plan to a nonresident employee on the day the
last payment of
Other compensation for personal $600 or | remuneration is made
services not subject to Wisconsin more
withholding3 (includes amounts
paid to nonresidents for services
performed in Wisconsin)
W-2 (Federal form) | Wage Wages, tips, and other All
statements compensation (includes amounts amounts
paid to nonresidents for services
performed in Wisconsin)
W-2G (Federal Certain Prizes from the Wisconsin Lottery | $2,000
form) gambling or a multijurisdictional lottery if the | or more
winnings winning ticket was purchased from
a Wisconsin retailer
Pari-mutuel wager winnings paid More
by a Wisconsin licensed track than
$1,000

1 If payments are below the reporting threshold but the employer/payer withheld any amount of Wisconsin tax from
the payments, the employer/payer is required to file the wage or information return with the department and reflect
those returns on the WT-7. This requirement includes other information returns such as Forms 1099-INT, 1099-
K, and 1099-DIV.

2 |f the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the due date becomes the business day immediately following the
weekend or holiday.

3 Examples include payments for: agricultural labor; domestic services; services by a citizen or resident of the U.S.
for a foreign government or international organization; services performed by a duly ordained minister or member
of a religious order; services performed by an individual under age 18 in the delivery of newspapers; services
related to the sale of newspapers and magazines at a fixed price and compensation is based on retaining the
excess of such price over the amount charged to them; services not in the course of the employer's trade or
business and paid in any medium other than cash; and tips, if paid in a medium other than cash or if such tips are
under $20 a month.

4 Employers and persons who make payments that must be reported for federal purposes on Forms W-2, 1099-
MISC, 1099-NEC, or 1099-R must use these forms instead of Form 9b for Wisconsin purposes.
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Reporting Requirements

Review and follow the reporting requirements below to submit wage statements and information returns.

Chart 2 — Wage Statement and Information Return Reporting Requirements

Required information

Send information

Required format for
paper filer

Do not send

¢ 15-digit Wisconsin
withholding tax number.
Those who did not
withhold, are not
required to withhold,
and never held a
Wisconsin withholding
tax number must use
036888888888801.

Nine-digit federal
employer identification
number (FEIN)

Legal name must match

o Verify the first three
items above using the
account look-up in My
Tax Account

Preparers can use our
withholding data
exchange to verify client
information

Electronic

If you file 10 or more
wage statements or
information returns, you
must file them
electronically. See
Publication 117 for
"How to File."

Paper

If you file fewer than
10, we encourage you
to file electronically.
Otherwise, mail them to

e Data must be in similar
location to federal form
on IRS website

Must be in form format.
We will not accept text
lists.

No more than one
statements or returns

per page

¢ Use the following

formats for printable
forms:

e Page no larger than
8.5"x11"

e Page no smaller than
2.75" high or 4.25" wide

e Send only one
statement or return per
employee/payee (no
duplicates)

e Use blue or black ink

e 1096-federal transmittal
form

e 1099-DIV or 1099-INT if
no Wisconsin
withholding (do not
include on WT-7)

e CDs, magnetic tapes,
or PDF files

e Carbon copies
e Correspondence

¢ Duplicate W-2s with no

change (if change
numbers above the following address: c W2 madg fil(e W-ZCgonIy)
Nine-digit payee tax o W-2C .
identification number Wisconsin Department . WG * Duplicate WT-7
e Wisconsin as top state (if of Revenue e Old version WT-7 if
. p PO Box 8920 e 1099-DIV paper filing
possible) Madison, WI 53708-8920 -
Before Filing o 1099-INT e W-2s or 1099s with no
Do not send to any e 1099-MISC Wisconsin connection
Register, if required, or other address -
make any name e 1099-NEC o WT2
changes e 1099-R

For more information on filing requirements, see Publication 117.
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https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/wtn/
https://tap.revenue.wi.gov/wtn/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/dataexchange.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/HTML/dataexchange.aspx
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb117.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw2.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw2c.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw2g.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1099div.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1099int.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1099msc.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1099nec.pdf
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1099r.pdf
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/DOR%20Publications/pb117.PDF
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Filing Extensions — Form WT-7, Wage Statements, and Information Returns

Employers may request a 30-day extension of time to file the annual reconciliation (Form WT-7) if they are
able to demonstrate good cause and reason for the requested delay. The extension is not an automatic
extension. If an extension is granted for the Form WT-7, it also applies to the corresponding wage
statements and information returns. If good cause is demonstrated, you may request a 30-day extension
for filing W-2s and/or 1099s with the department, even if you are not requesting an extension for filing the
Form WT-7. There is no extension of time for filing W-2Gs.

Due dates for the following cannot be extended:

¢ Furnishing wage statements to employees

e Furnishing information returns to recipients
Extension requests must be received by the original due date using one of the following:

e Complete the Request Extension to File in My Tax Account

e Email WIWithholding@wisconsin.gov
e Write to:

Mail Stop 3-80, Tax Operations Bureau
Wisconsin Department of Revenue

PO Box 8902

Madison, WI 53708-8902

Transportation Fringe Benefits for 2024 and 2025

The value of certain transportation fringe benefits provided by an employer to an employee may be
excluded from employee wages.

2024 Treatment
For federal and Wisconsin purposes, the amount that may be excluded from employee wages for 2024 is
limited as follows:

e $315 per month for qualified parking

e $315 per month for commuter highway vehicle transportation and transit passes
2025 Treatment

For federal and Wisconsin purposes, the amount that may be excluded from employee wages for 2025 is
limited as follows:

e $325 per month for qualified parking

e $325 per month for commuter highway vehicle transportation and transit passes
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Worker Classification (Employee vs. Contractor)

Every person who pays an individual for work must classify the individual as either an employee or
independent contractor. The correct classification is important because it impacts the payer's requirements

for:

Federal unemployment insurance, income tax withholding, and information return reporting under
chs. 23, 24, and 61, Internal Revenue Code, administered by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
Wisconsin unemployment insurance under ch. 108, Wis. Stats., administered by the Wisconsin
Department of Workforce Development (DWD)

Wisconsin income tax withholding and information return reporting under ch. 71, Wis. Stats.,
administered by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR)

Both the IRS website and the DWD website provide guidance to help payers determine if a worker is an
employee or an independent contractor, and DOR generally follows the IRS guidance.

The IRS, DWD, and DOR have authority to audit a payer's records to ensure compliance with these laws.
If an audit by the IRS or DWD determines that an employee was misclassified, the payer must ensure that
it is complying with the laws administered by DOR. Failure to comply with Wisconsin's income tax
withholding and information return reporting requirements under ch. 71, Wis. Stats., may result in an audit
by DOR and liability for the following:

A penalty equal to the amount of the tax, plus interest and penalties on that tax - A person required
to withhold any tax under ch. 71, Wis. Stats., who intentionally fails to withhold such tax shall be
liable to a penalty equal to the amount of the tax, plus interest and penalties on that tax (sec.
71.83(1)(b)2., Wis. Stats.).

$25,000 fine - Any employer engaged in the construction of roads, bridges, highways, sewers, water
mains, utilities, public buildings, factories, housing, or similar construction projects who willfully
provides false information to DOR, or who willfully and with intent to evade any withholding
requirement, misclassifies or attempts to misclassify an individual who is an employee of the
employer as a nonemployee shall be fined $25,000 for each violation (sec. 71.65(6), Wis. Stats.).
$10 penalty - If a person fails to file a wage statement (e.g., Form W-2) required under sec. 71.71 or
71.715, Wis. Stats., by the prescribed due date, including any extension, or files an incorrect or
incomplete return, that person may be subject to a penalty of $10 for each violation (sec.
71.83(1)(a)1m., Wis. Stats.).

$50 or $150 late filing fee - Any person who is required to file a withholding report (e.g., Form WT-
7) and deposit withholding taxes that fails to do so timely and DOR shows that the taxpayer's action
or inaction was due to the taxpayer's willful neglect and not to reasonable cause, shall be subject to
a $50 late fee, except for corporations taxed under subch. 1V or insurance companies taxed under
subch. VII of ch. 71, Wis. Stats., the late fee is $150 (sec. 71.83(3)(a), Wis. Stats.).

25 percent penalty - Any person who is required to file a deposit report (Form WT-6) or a withholding
report (Form WT-7) and files an incomplete or incorrect report, or fails to properly withhold or fails to
properly deposit or pay over withheld funds, upon a showing by the department that the taxpayer's
action or inaction was due to the taxpayer's willful neglect and not to reasonable cause may be
subject to a penalty of 25 percent of the amount not reported or not withheld (sec. 71.83(1)(a)3.,
Wis. Stats.).

1.5 percent interest per month - Delinquent withholding deposits or payments shall bear interest at
the rate of 1.5 percent per month. Note: During a period in which an extension is granted, interest
accrues at the rate of 1 percent per month (sec. 71.82(2)(d), Wis. Stats.).

Disallowed wage expense deduction - If an employer fails to file wage statements (e.g. Form W-2),
DOR may assess as an addition to taxable income the amount of deductions taken in arriving at
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federal adjusted gross income or federal taxable income by natural persons and fiduciaries for wages
(sec. 71.74(4), Wis. Stats.).

e $10,000 fine and/or 9 month prison sentence - Any person who willfully fails or refuses to make
required withholding deposits or payments or willfully renders a false or fraudulent wage statement
(e.g. Form W-2) or report (e.g. Form WT-6 or Form WT-7) shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and may
be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned for not to exceed 9 months or both, together with the
cost of prosecution (sec. 71.83(2)(a)1., Wis. Stats.).

For more information about Wisconsin income tax withholding and information return reporting
requirements, see Publication W-166, Withholding Tax Guide, and Publication 117, Guide to Wisconsin
Wage Statements and Information Returns.

Single-Member LLCs — Are You Registered Correctly?

A single-member limited liability company (LLC) that is a disregarded entity and has employees is
considered an "employer" for purposes of federal withholding taxes. Wisconsin follows this treatment. As
an "employer" the single-member LLC must use its name and FEIN to obtain a Wisconsin withholding tax
number. To apply for a Wisconsin withholding tax number, visit My Tax Account or complete an application
for business reqistration.

Employees Claiming More than 10 Exemptions or Complete Exemption from Withholding (Form
WT-4)

Employers must send a copy of the Form WT-4 to the department when:

e An employee claims more than 10 exemptions for Wisconsin purposes, or
e Anemployee claims complete exemption from Wisconsin withholding while earning over $200
a week.

When required, send the copy of Form WT-4 to:

Audit Bureau

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 8906

Madison, WI 53708-8906

If an employee claims complete exemption from Wisconsin withholding tax, a new Form WT-4 must be
filed with the employer annually on or before April 30 of that year. If the employee fails to do so, the
employee is considered as claiming zero withholding exemptions.

Withholding Lock-In Letters
The department may void a current withholding exemption certificate (Form WT-4) for Wisconsin purposes

if it appears that an employee has filed an incorrect certificate, form, or agreement with an employer. If this
occurs, we will send the employer and employee a withholding lock-in letter. A lock-in letter:

¢ Voids the current certificate in place for the employee
e Mandates the maximum number of exemptions the employee may claim

¢ Remains in effect indefinitely or until the employer is notified otherwise by the department
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The employer must withhold based on the number of exemptions stated in the lock-in letter. Employers
failing to honor a withholding lock-in letter may be subject to penalties.

Reporting Nonresident Entertainer Withholding on Income/Franchise Tax Returns

A nonresident entertainer is a nonresident person (a person who is not a legal resident of Wisconsin) or a
foreign corporation, partnership, or other type of entity, not regularly engaged in business in Wisconsin
who furnishes amusement, entertainment, public speaking services, or performs in sporting events in
Wisconsin for consideration. Performance venues or employers of the nonresident entertainer must
withhold tax of 6% from the total contract price unless an exception applies.

When the nonresident entertainer files its income or franchise tax return, the amount withheld on behalf of
the entertainer should be reported as withholding on the return. If the withholding is incorrectly reported as
an estimated payment on the entertainer's income or franchise tax return, the return processing may be
delayed.

For more information regarding nonresident entertainers, see the following resources:

e Nonresident Entertainers Common Questions

e Form WT-11 Instructions

e Form WT-12 Instructions

e Publication 508, Nonresident Entertainers

My Tax Account New User Webinars

We offer a My Tax Account webinar for new users the second Tuesday of odd numbered months. The next
new user webinar is scheduled for November 12, 2024, 9:30 am to 10:30 am (CST). The webinar covers
topics including My Tax Account’s two-step login process, filing and paying sales & use tax, and filing and
paying withholding tax.

To register and find more information as it becomes available, visit the department's fraining page at
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Training/Home.aspx.

My Tax Account Annual Refresher Webinars
The department is providing Annual Filer Refresher webinars on January 14, 15, 16, and 21 of 2025 (the

same information is provided in each webinar). These webinars cover a variety of topics, including:
¢ Filing and paying sales and use tax (ST-12)
e Filing and paying withholding tax (WT-6 and WT-7)
e Submitting wage statements and information returns (W-2s, 1099-Rs, 1099-MISCs & 1099-NECs)
e Printing seller’s permits and business tax registration certificates
e Updating profile information (bank and contact information)
¢ Requesting extensions to file

To register and find more information as it becomes available, visit the department's training page at
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/Training/Home.aspx.
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Withholding Tax Webinars for Employers

The department is providing a live Withholding Tax webinar on Thursday, December 12, 2024, at 10:00
AM. The webinar will be recorded and available for playback within a few days after the event.

These webinars cover a variety of topics, including:

o Employer responsibilities and filing frequency information

e How to file withholding and information returns (WT-6, WT-7, W-2s, and 1099s)

¢ My Tax Account overview for withholding tax — includes filing tips for My Tax Account
e Tips for avoiding penalties and interest

e Employer requirements for closing accounts
To register for this webinar, visit the department's training page.
Withholding Tax Electronic Mailing List

Subscribe to the department’s withholding tax electronic mailing list to receive withholding tax related
communications.

Employer's Responsibility for Unclaimed Property

Any business that has possession of unclaimed property is required to report and turn over that property
to the Department of Revenue. This includes wages, such as uncashed payroll checks. Wages that are
unclaimed must be turned over after one year. For more information about what is unclaimed property and
how to report it, please see the Unclaimed Property Holder Report Guide.

Questions or Comments

Mail: Customer Service Bureau, Mail Stop 5-77
Wisconsin Department of Revenue
PO Box 8949
Madison, WI 53708-8949

Email: DORWithholdingTax@wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2776

Visit: https://www.revenue.wi.gov/withholding

Quick Links

e Data exchange program

e Filing frequency changes

e Health savings accounts

¢ New hire reporting

e Pass-Through Withholding and Composite Returns
e Reciprocity
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e Wage and information return reporting

¢ Withholding tax topical index
¢ Withholding Tax Updates
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