MF-209: CERTIFICATE OF FUEL TAX EXEMPTION EXEMPT SALES OF GASOLINE AND UNDYED DIESEL FUEL

Secs. 78.01(2) and (2m), Wis. Stats.

Effective Date:	/	/	
Expiration Date:	/	/	

Indicate below how the exempt fuel will be used. Customers must be prepared to substantiate exempt usage.

CHECK ALL BOXES THAT APPLY

Gasoline purchased for off-road use in mobile machinery and equipment and delivered directly into the customer's storage tank in an amount not less than 100 gallons. Describe use:

Caution: Gasoline cannot be sold tax-exempt if it will be placed into the tank of a licensed motor vehicle (except an urban mass transportation vehicle), snowmobile, recreational motorboat, or an all-terrain vehicle/utility terrain vehicle (unless registered for private use).

Gasoline bought for use in aircraft by a general aviation fuel dealer or user licensed with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. Gasoline purchased by an aviation fuel dealer or user must be delivered **directly** into the dealer or user's storage tank in an amount not less than 100 gallons.

Gasoline and/or undyed diesel fuel purchased and used by the U. S. Government or one of its agencies. Indicate the name of the agency:

The U. S. Government is also exempt from the petroleum inspection fee (2¢ per gallon). The State of Wisconsin, local municipalities in Wisconsin, and school districts are **not** the U. S. Government and should not check this box.

Gasoline and/or undyed diesel fuel purchased and used by common motor carriers for the urban mass transportation of passengers.

Undyed diesel fuel purchased for use as heating oil.

Gasoline and/or undyed diesel fuel exported by a person licensed with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue to export fuel.

Other - Describe use:

(For example: Undyed diesel fuel sold for use in trains; fuel sold to enrolled tribal members living on their own tribe's reservation or trust lands).

PENALTIES: Any person who provides false or fictitious information on the exemption certificate or uses the fuel purchased tax-exempt in a manner not stated on the exemption certificate may be subject to tax, interest, penalties and fined not more than \$500 or imprisoned not more than 6 months or both (sec. 78.73(1), Wis. Stats.).

Name of Customer (print or type)	Federal Employer ID No. or Social	Security N	o.(if sole proprietor)
Business Address (street, or rural route and box number)	City	State	Zip Code
Title		Business (Telephone)
Signature of Customer		Date Sigr	ned

Name of Supplier (please print)	Address of Supplier	
		1
Signature of Supplier		Date Signed

MF-209 INSTRUCTIONS: CERTIFICATE OF FUEL TAX EXEMPTION EXEMPT SALES OF GASOLINE AND UNDYED DIESEL FUEL

GENERAL INFORMATION

Wisconsin law allows a tax credit or refund to persons who sell **tax-paid gasoline and/or undyed diesel fuel** for exempt use. Fuel suppliers who are licensed with the department may claim a deduction for exempt sales on their monthly motor vehicle fuel tax reports. Nonlicensed suppliers must file a refund claim (MF-012) with the department to receive a refund of the motor vehicle fuel tax they pay when purchasing the fuel for resale.

For a licensed supplier or a nonlicensed supplier to make exempt sales to customers, suppliers must obtain an exemption certificate from customers attesting to the exempt use of the fuel purchased. If a customer makes exempt purchases from more than one supplier, the customer must execute an exemption certificate with each supplier. Suppliers and customers **must retain** copies of executed exemption certificates in their records. **DO NOT SEND** copies of exemption certificates to the department unless requested.

Gasoline may be sold tax-exempt for **off-road use** (for example: farming, construction, logging). However, undyed diesel fuel must be sold tax-included. Purchasers of this fuel may file a claim for refund of the fuel tax relating to their off-road use with the department.

Claims may be filed electronically using Form MF-001 located on our website at: <u>revenue.wi.gov/businesses/</u><u>motorfuel.html</u> or by mailing to the department. Forms are also available at <u>revenue.wi.gov/forms/excise/</u><u>index-f.html</u>.

DATE COVERED BY CERTIFICATE

- Effective Date enter date exemption first applies. Must be on or after date signed by both the customer and supplier.
- Expiration Date Enter the expiration date. This certificate is valid for a maximum of 3-years from the effective date unless cancelled by the customer or the Wisconsin Department of Revenue.

ASSISTANCE

You can access the department's website 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at <u>revenue.wi.gov</u>. From this website, you can:

- Access My Tax Account (MTA)
- Complete electronic fill-in forms
- Download forms, schedules, instructions, and publications
- · View answers to common questions
- · Email us for assistance

Madison Office Location 2135 Rimrock Road

Madison WI 53713

Mailing Address

Excise Tax Unit Wisconsin Department of Revenue PO Box 8900 Madison WI 53708-8900

Phone: (608) 266-6701 Fax: (608) 264-7049 Email: <u>excise@revenue.wi.gov</u>