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WELCOME TO THE 200" ISSUE OF THE WISCONSIN TAX BULLETIN

The first Wisconsin Tax Bulletin was issued in October of 1976. The bulletin
was created to communicate information about laws and administrative
| practices administered by the Income, Sales and Excise Tax Division in the
Wisconsin Department of Revenue. Over 41 years later, the Income, Sales
and Excise Tax Division in the Department proudly continues this mission.

If you would like to receive notification when a new Wisconsin Tax Bulletin is available, subscribe to the
sales and use tax or tax professional electronic mailing list.
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New Alcohol Beverage Laws

Sales of Alcohol Beverages Within Ozaukee County Fairgrounds

(2017 Wisconsin Act 95, create secs. 125.26(2x), 125.27(4), 125.51(3)(bx) and 125.51(5)(e), effective
December 02, 2017)

Current law provides that alcohol beverage licensees and permittees must specifically describe their
licensed/permitted premises. Applicants for retail alcohol beverage licenses or permits must particularly
describe the licensed/permitted premises such as the building, room and/or land area under the applicant's
control where alcohol beverages will be sold, served, consumed or stored. Sales of alcohol beverages
may only be made on the licensed/permitted premises.

Wisconsin Act 95 authorizes a person who holds a Class "B" fermented malt beverages (beer)
license/permit or a "Class B" intoxicating liquor license/permit in Ozaukee County to sell alcohol beverages
at specific locations within the Ozaukee County fairgrounds for consumption at those locations during
special events held at the fairgrounds, the Ozaukee County Board adopts a resolution approving the
licensee or permittee.

Prohibition Against Adults Knowingly Permitting or Failing to Take Action to
Prevent lllegal Consumption of Alcohol Beverages by Underage Persons

(2017 Wisconsin Act 126, amend sec. 125.07(1)(a)3., effective December 10, 2017)

Current law prohibits an adult from knowingly permitting or failing to take action to prevent illegal
consumption of alcohol beverages by an underage person on premises owned or controlled by the adult.
"Premises" has been interpreted by the courts to mean an area described in a license or permit to sell
alcohol beverages. Act 126 revises the statute, making the prohibition applicable on any property owned
and occupied by an adult, or occupied by an adult and under the adult's control.
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Income/Franchise Tax

Due Dates for Wisconsin Tax Returns and Estimated Tax Payments

Note: The dates in the chart below reflect due dates for a calendar year end taxpayer unless otherwise
noted. For taxpayers with a fiscal year end, please see the specific form's corresponding instructions for

due date information.

2017 Wisconsin Tax Return Due Dates

Form 2: Fiduciary Income Tax Return for Estates and Trusts

Due Date
ol Extended Due Date

. - April 17, 2018

Form 1: Individual Income Tax Return (Long Form) October 15, 2018
e April 17, 2018

Form 1A/WI-Z: Individual Income Tax Return (Short Form) October 15, 2018
Form 1INPR: Nonresident and Part-Year Resident April 17, 2018

Individual Income Tax Return October 15, 2018
Schedule H/H-EZ: Homestead Credit Claim April ,{JAZOZZ
April 17, 2018

October 01, 2018

Form 3: Partnership Return

March 15, 2018
September 17, 2018

or Income Tax Return (12/31 year-end)

Form 1CNP: Composite Individual Income Tax Return for April 17, 2018
Nonresident Partners October 15, 2018
Form 4/6: Non-Combined/Combined Corporation Franchise April 17, 2018

November 15, 2018

Form 4/6: Non-Combined/Combined Corporation Franchise
or Income Tax Return (6/30 year-end for taxable
years beginning before January 1, 2026)

September 17, 2017
May 15, 2018

Form 4/6: Non-Combined/Combined Corporation Franchise
or Income Tax Return (other than 6/30 or 12/31

15" day of 4" month
15" day of 11" month

Income Tax Return for Estates and Trusts

year-end)
Form 4T: Exempt Corporation Franchise or Income Tax May 15, 2018
Return December 17, 2018
Form 4T: Exempt Employee's Trust, IRA, MSA Fiduciary April 17, 2018

October 15, 2018

Form 4T: Exempt Non-Employee's Trust, IRA, MSA
Fiduciary Income Tax Return for Estates and
Trusts

May 15, 2018
December 17, 2018

Form 5S: Tax-Option (S) Corporation Franchise or Income
Tax Return

March 15, 2018
October 15, 2018

Form 1CNS: Composite Wisconsin Individual Income Tax
Return for Nonresident Tax-Option (S)
Corporation Shareholders

April 17, 2018
October 15, 2018

Back to Table of Contents
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Revised
2/6/18

2017 Wisconsin Tax Return Due Dates
Form Due Date
Extended Due Date
Form PW-1: Partnerships — Nonresident Income or
. . ; March 15, 2018
Fra_nchlse Tax Withholding on Pass-Through October 15, 2018
Entity Income
Form PW-1: Tax-Option (S) Co_rporaﬂon - Nonr_eS|dent March 15, 2018
Income or Franchise Tax Withholding on October 15. 2018
Pass-Through Entity Income '
Form PW-1: Estates and Trusts — Nonresident Income or .
. X ) April 17, 2018
Franchise Tax Withholding on Pass-Through
X November 15, 2018
Entity Income
Form PW-2: Partnerships — Nonresident Partner, Member,
Shareholder, or Beneficiary Withholding Januar3l<l/3A1, 2018
Exemption Affidavit
Form PW-2: S-Corporations —  Nonresident Partner,
Member, Shareholder, or Beneficiary JanuarKI/?»Al, 2018
Withholding Exemption Affidavit
Form PW-2: Estates and Trusts — Nonresident Partner,
Member, Shareholder, or Beneficiary Februar’zllli& 2018
Withholding Exemption Affidavit

Note: The dates in the chart below reflect the first installment due dates for 2018 calendar year end
taxpayers unless otherwise noted. For taxpayers with a fiscal year end, please see the specific form's
corresponding instructions for due date information.

2018 Wisconsin Estimated Tax First Installment Due Dates

Form Due Date

Form 1-ES: Estimated Income Tax Voucher April 17, 2018

Form PW-ES: Pass-Through Entity Withholding Estimated

Payment Voucher March 15, 2018

Form Corp-ES: Corporation Estimated Tax Voucher April 17, 2018

Form Corp-ES: Corporation Estimated Tax Voucher (tax

year beginning in April) June 15, 2018

What's New This Tax Season
Below are some of the changes that may impact your 2017 Wisconsin tax returns:
Individual:
e Income tax refunds may not be issued before March 1: The department will not issue a refund

to an employed individual before March 1, unless both the individual and the individual's employer
have filed all required returns and forms with the department for the taxable year for which the

individual claims a refund.
@
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e Internal Revenue Code updates: Schedule |, Adjustments to Convert 2017 Federal Adjusted
Gross Income and Itemized Deductions To The Amounts Allowable for Wisconsin. The schedule
is redesigned and the instructions are reformatted to provide clarity. Many Internal Revenue Code
(IRC) differences are eliminated due to IRC adoptions from 2017 Wis. Act 59 (Wisconsin State
Budget Bill). See Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 199 for details on adopted IRC provisions.

e Tuition: The subtraction for tuition and fees is increased from $6,943 to $6,958. The subtraction
is phased-out for persons with federal adjusted gross income between $53,160 and $63,790 if
single or head of household; $85,050 and $106,310 if married filing a joint return; between $42,530
and $53,160 if married filing a separate return.

¢ College savings account: The amount of the subtraction for contributions to a college savings
account is increased from $3,100 to $3,140 ($1,570 if married filing separately).

e Adoption expenses: The subtraction for up to $5,000 of adoption expenses is expanded to include
adoptions where the final order of adoption was entered by a court of any other state or upon
registration of a foreign adoption.

e Olympic medals and prize payments: Wisconsin adopted the federal exclusion of the value of
U.S. Olympic medals for Olympics and Paralympics and prize payments from the U.S. Olympics
Committee for taxpayers with federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) less than $1 million. An
additional subtraction is allowed for Wisconsin for those taxpayers with FAGI $1 million or above
for the value of the U.S. Olympic medals for Olympics and Paralympics and prize payments from
the U.S. Olympics Committee which were not allowed to be excluded for federal purposes. To the
extent included in federal adjusted gross income, an additional subtraction is allowed for Special
Olympics medals and prize payments from the Special Olympics Board of Directors, regardless of
federal adjusted gross income. These provisions are effective retroactively for taxable years
beginning on or after January 1, 2016.

e Capital gain exclusion — qualified Wisconsin business:

For purposes of determining capital gains from the sale of an investment in a qualified Wisconsin
business

o "Investment" means amounts paid to acquire stock or other ownership interest in a partnership,
corporation, tax-option corporation, or limited liability company treated as a partnership or
corporation.

o The amount of the qualifying gain may not exceed the fair market value of the investment on
the date sold less the fair market value of the investment on the date acquired

For purposes of registering as a qualified Wisconsin business

o An employee of a professional employer organization or professional employer group who is
performing services for a client is considered an employee solely of the client for purposes of
becoming a qualified Wisconsin business

For more information, see common questions for registration of a qualified Wisconsin business and
capital gain exclusion from the sale of an investment in a qualified Wisconsin business on the
department's website.

o Net operating loss carry-forward and carry-back:

o Aloss may not be used unless it is computed within four years of the unextended due date for
filing the original return for the year the loss is incurred.

o No carry-back is allowed unless it is claimed within four years of the unextended due date for
filing the original return for the year to which the loss is carried back.

o This is effective for losses claimed on or after September 23, 2017.
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Iltemized deduction credit: In prior years, part-year residents and nonresidents prorated the
standard deduction by the ratio of Wisconsin adjusted gross income to Federal adjusted gross
income when computing the Wisconsin itemized deduction credit. This proration is no longer
available.

Alternative minimum tax: Exemption amounts are federalized for 2017. The amounts are:
$54,300 for single or head of household, $84,500 for married filing jointly, and $42,250 for married
filing separately.

Note: The Wisconsin alternative minimum tax will be eliminated for tax years beginning in 2019.

Credit for tax paid to other state: The credit may not exceed an amount determined by multiplying
the taxpayer's net Wisconsin income tax by a ratio derived by dividing the income subject to tax in
the other state that is also subject to tax in Wisconsin while the taxpayer is a resident of Wisconsin,
by the taxpayer's Wisconsin adjusted gross income. This limitation does not apply to income that
is taxed by Minnesota, lowa, lllinois, or Michigan. The Schedule OS, Credit for Net Tax Paid to
Another State, has been updated to reflect the new law.

Homestead credit: Claims filed for tax years 2017 and after, a claimant or a claimant's spouse, if
married, must be age 62 or older or the claimant must be disabled to qualify for the homestead
credit. For individuals who are under age 62 and not disabled, the claimant must have earned
income in order to qualify for the credit. Schedule H, Homestead Credit Claim, has been updated
to reflect the new law. For more information, see the common questions for Homestead Credit.

Schedule GL: A new schedule to report the gain or loss on the sale of your home must be filed
with 2017 Schedule H, to claim the homestead credit, if you sold your home during the tax year.

Business:

Employee's income tax refunds may not be issued before March 1: The department will not
issue a refund to an employed individual before March 1, unless both the individual and the
individual's employer have filed all required returns and forms with the department for the taxable
year for which the individual claims a refund. This includes Form WT-7, the employer's annual
reconciliation of Wisconsin income tax withheld.

Internal Revenue Code updates: Many IRC differences are eliminated due to IRC adoptions from
2017 Wis. Act 59 (Wisconsin State Budget Bill). See Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 199 for details on
adopted IRC provisions.

Sourcing of services: For purposes of determining whether gross receipts from the sale of
services are included in the numerator of the apportionment formula for a multi-state business, the
benefit of a service is received in Wisconsin if:

1. The service relates to real property that is located in Wisconsin,

2. The service relates to tangible personal property that is delivered directly or indirectly to
customers in Wisconsin,

3. The service is purchased by an individual who is physically present in Wisconsin at the time
that the service is received, or

4. The service is provided to a person engaged in a trade or business in Wisconsin and relates
to that person's business in Wisconsin.

Net business loss carry-forward:

o Aloss may not be carried forward and deducted unless it is computed and claimed within four
years of the unextended due date for filing the original return for the year the loss is incurred.

o This is effective for loss carry-forwards deducted on or after September 23, 2017. E ‘:
7
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e Repayment of supplement to federal historic rehabilitation credit: Effective September 23,
2017, if a person who claims a Wisconsin supplement to the federal historic rehabilitation credit
and is required to repay any amount of the federal credit, the person shall repay to the department
a proportionate amount of the Wisconsin credit.

e Refundable credits certified by the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC):
o Nointerest is paid on refunds resulting from claiming refundable credits certified by WEDC.

o The department may make an assessment to recover tax credit claims within one year of
receiving notice of revocation from WEDC.

o The following credits are refundable WEDC credits:
= Jobs tax credit
= Enterprise zone jobs credit
= Electronics and information technology manufacturing zone credit
= Business development credit

e Manufacturing and agriculture credit: The amount of eligible qualified production activities
income that a claimant may claim must be reduced by the amount of qualified production activities
income taxed by another state upon which the credit for net tax paid to another state is claimed.

o E-file requirement for wage statements and information returns: An employer or
payer required to file 10 or more W-2s or 10 or more of any one type of information
return with the department must file such returns electronically. The prior threshold was
50 or more.

¢ All wage statements and information returns required to be filed with the
department are due January 31: The prior due dates for filing statements of nonwage
payments and rent and royalties with the department were February 28 and March 15.

e A 30-day extension is available for filing wage statements and information returns:
Under prior law, a 60-day extension period was available for rent and royalty statements
and nonwage statements.

Changing an Election to Apply a Refund to Estimated Tax

For individual and fiduciary income tax, notification of a change in election must occur on or before the due
date of the final estimated tax installment payment (January 15, 2018, for a calendar-year filer changing
an election to apply a refund from a 2016 return to 2017 estimated tax payments).

For corporation franchise and income tax, notification of a change in election must occur on or before the
unextended due date of the following year's tax return (April 17, 2018, for a calendar-year filer changing
an election to apply a refund from a 2016 return to 2017 estimated tax payments) or before the following
year's tax return is filed, whichever is earlier.

How a Change in Election Is Made

Notification of a change in election must be in writing. This includes the filing of an amended return or
sending an email, fax, or letter to:
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Individuals Corporations
DORIncomeAdjUnt@wisconsin.gov DORFranchise@wisconsin.gov
Fax: (608) 264-6884 Fax: (608) 267-0834

Wisconsin Department of Revenue Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 3-138 Mail Stop 3-80

PO Box 8903 PO Box 8908

Madison WI 53708-8903 Madison WI 53708-8908
Fiduciaries

DORIncomePassThroughComposite @wisconsin.qov
Fax: (608) 264-0248

Wisconsin Department of Revenue
Mail Stop 3-164

PO BOX 8966

Madison WI 53708-8966

General Topical Index Updated Through October 2017

The General Topical Index is a reference tool used to research Wisconsin tax topics. The Index has been
updated with references to published guidance through October 31, 2017. The update added hyperlinks
to allow quick access to Wisconsin Tax Bulletins, Publications, Fact Sheets, Sales Tax Reports, and the
Withholding Tax Guide.

The Index is found on the department's website at https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/ISE/top-cc-
Home.aspx.

Note: Since the General Topical Index and the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin Index provide the same references
to Wisconsin Tax Bulletins, the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin Index has been replaced by the General Topical
Index.

Wisconsin Impact from the Federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act

For purposes of computing Wisconsin taxable income, Wisconsin law follows the Internal Revenue Code
as of December 31, 2016, with certain exceptions. As federal provisions are adopted by Wisconsin's
legislature, notification will be provided in the Wisconsin Tax Bulletin.

The following provisions in the recent federal tax reform bill (H.R.1) will automatically apply for Wisconsin:

¢ Increase section 179 expensing to $1 million with a phase-out range beginning at $2.5 million and
expand definition of qualified property

o Repeal of technical termination of partnerships

o Require Historic Rehabilitation Credits to be claimed over five years

Note: These provisions are identified in the 2017 Schedule | instructions.
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Electronic Filing Forms PW-1, 1CNP and 1CNS
The following forms are required to be electronically filed:
e Form PW-1, Wisconsin Nonresident Income or Franchise Tax Withholding on Pass-Through Entity
Income
e Form 1CNP, Composite Wisconsin Individual Income Tax Return for Nonresident Partners

e Form 1CNS, Composite Wisconsin Individual Income Tax Return for Nonresident Tax-Option (S)
Corporation Shareholders

These forms may be filed electronically through the department's My Tax Account application. My Tax
Account is offered at no cost and is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. If you are reporting the
withholding or income tax filing for more than 200 nonresidents, it is recommended that you use a 3™ party
software program. A list of approved software vendors can be found on the department's website here.

The entire form must be electronically filed, including Part 2 of Form PW-1 and Schedule 2 of Forms 1CNP
and 1CNS. An electronic PDF or Excel attachment of Part 2 or Schedule 2 will not be accepted, and the
department may reject returns that are filed on paper.

Complete the Property and Payroll Sections of Forms 3, 4, 6 and 5S

If you have property or payroll, fill in the Wisconsin and total company amounts in the following sections of
the returns:

Form Property/Payroll Section

Form 3: Partnership Return Page 1, Part |, Lines 7 through 10

Form 4: Non-Combined Corporation Franchise or Income

Tax Return Page 2, Lines 39 through 42

Form 6: Combined Corporation Franchise or Income Tax

Return Page 13, Part VI, Lines 9 through 12

Form 5S: Tax-Option (S) Corporation Franchise or Income

Tax Return Page 1, Sections G1 through H2

Pass-Through Entities Must File K-1s with Their Returns

Returns will be rejected without all required schedules. In addition, the department does not process credits
passed through on a Schedule 2K-1, 3K-1, or 5K-1 and claimed by a beneficiary, partner, or shareholder
until the fiduciary estate or trust, partnership, or tax-option (S) corporation submits the appropriate
schedules to the department to confirm the taxpayer's eligibility to claim the credit.

Depreciable Basis of Property for Existing Businesses Filing Their First Wisconsin
Tax Return

For existing businesses first filing in Wisconsin after December 31, 2013, the Wisconsin adjusted basis of
previously depreciated property is the same as the adjusted basis of that property as computed for federal
income tax purposes as of the beginning of the taxable year. The business must depreciate that property
under the method used for federal income tax purposes.
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Staying on Top of Scams and Fraud

Avoid becoming a victim of identity theft, tax fraud, and tax scams. The most current information on fraud
and tax scams is available online at:

e https://www.irs.gov/ - Internal Revenue Service

e hitps://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Homepage.aspx - Wisconsin Division of Agriculture, Trade and
Consumer Protection

Use the search box and enter "fraud" or "scams".

Department Urges Payroll Departments and Tax Preparation Businesses to Report
Scams

Scams targeting tax practitioners, payroll professionals and employers are a growing problem in Wisconsin
and nationwide. Cybercriminals are actively seeking accurate data about taxpayers in order to file
fraudulent state and federal income tax returns. These scams can include phishing emails attempting to
steal wage statements from an employer or takeover a tax practitioner's filing system. You can learn more
about these scams at: irs.gov/newsroom/tax-scams-consumer-alerts.

If your organization experienced a data compromise, the department asks to be informed. Contact us at
DORIDTheft@wisconsin.gov to report the data loss and provide contact information. Do not include
personally identifiable information for impacted employees or customers in your email.

Identity Verification Program (1D}

Verili(ati]zn ;
\®

The Wisconsin Department of Revenue (DOR) will continue its Identity Verification program for the
upcoming filing season. This program keeps tax dollars out of the hands of identity thieves and in the
pockets of Wisconsin taxpayers. If we select your return, the department will send you a letter asking you
to do one of the following:

o Take an identity quiz. The quiz consists of four multiple choice questions. You can take the quiz
online or by calling our customer service representatives at (608) 266-2772. Your Wisconsin state
tax refund amount is required to complete the quiz.

o Enter your DOR issued Personal Identification Number (PIN). The department will mail you a
PIN after we receive your Wisconsin income tax return or homestead credit claim. You can enter
the PIN online or by calling our customer service representatives at (608) 266-2772. Your
Wisconsin state tax refund amount is required to complete the PIN process.

e Submit identity documents. Provide one document that has your full name and photograph and
one document that has your full name and complete address. You will receive a letter listing the
types of acceptable documents which can be submitted online, by mail, or in person. Office
locations and business hours are available on the department's website.

Identity verification is the first step in processing your return. Some returns require additional steps which
may take up to 12 weeks to complete.

For more information on identify verification and what the department is doing to protect taxpayers, visit
our website at revenue.wi.gov and select the ID Verification button on the homepage.
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Correctly Using Form W-RA

Form W-RA, Required Attachments for Electronic Filing and Instructions, is used to submit supporting
documentation when an electronically filed return claims any of the credits or items specifically listed on
the Form W-RA. Many items listed on the income or franchise tax return require documentation along with
the completed form or schedule included with the tax return. Only use Form W-RA to submit the required
documentation. Form W-RA should not be used when submitting a paper tax form or homestead credit
claim. Form W-RA should not be used when submitting a reply or an appeal to any correspondence from
the department. Response to correspondence or an appeal should be mailed to the contact address on
the letter or notice.

Form W-RA required attachments may also be submitted electronically, either through software with the
electronically filed return or through the department's website. Go to https://tap.revenue.wi.qov/WRA/ /.

Report Accurate and Complete Corporate Wisconsin Modifications

Wisconsin corporate income and franchise tax forms provide over 20 specific lines for taxpayers to report
modifications to federal income. Modifications include adjustments for depreciation or depletion
calculations, additions for Wisconsin credits computed, or adjustments to certain income or expenses
included in the calculation of federal taxable income. See Schedule 4V - Wisconsin Additions to Federal
Income and Schedule W — Wisconsin Subtractions from Federal Income, or Form 6, Part Il, for combined
filers, for a complete list.

Avoid errors and delays in processing your return, and avoid letters from the department requesting
additional information, by following these tips:

Proper location

Report modifications on the proper line. Use the lines for "Other" additions and subtractions only when a
specific modification line does not already exist.

Keep it positive

Report both addition and subtraction modifications as positive numbers. For example, report refunded
state income taxes which increase federal taxable income as a positive amount on Schedule W, line 13 or
Form 6, Part Il, Line 4m.

Include schedules

Modifications often require schedules to be included with the return (e.g., credit computed on Schedule
MA-M is an addition modification). Make sure to include all required schedules with the return.

Code it correctly

Combined groups use specific codes to identify "Other additions" and "Other subtractions" on Form 6, Part
I, Lines 2j and 4m. The correct code should be used to report the modification. If Code 05 is used, include
a statement detailing the source and amounts of the modifications. See Form 6 instructions for a list of the
specific codes.
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Veterans and Surviving Spouses Property Tax Credit — Sale/Purchase of the
Property

When a claimant sells or purchases a principal dwelling during the year, the property taxes must be
prorated.

Taxes are only allowed for the period of time the dwelling was the claimant's principal residence.
The property taxes must be paid during the year of the claim.

If the prorated tax is provided in the closing agreement, this will be the amount of allowable taxes.
If the closing agreement does not prorate the taxes, the tax must be prorated between the seller
and buyer in proportion to time of ownership.

Claimants must attach a copy of the closing agreement so the department can confirm the amount
of allowable taxes.

If property tax bill shows more than 1 acre of land, prorate as follows:

Property Tax Bill Shows More Than One Acre and Purchase or Sale of Property

1 Assessed value of land (from tax bill) 1
2 Number of acres of land 2
3 Divide line 1 by line 2 3
4 Assessed value of prinicipal dwelling 4
5 Add line 3 and line 4 5
6 Total assessed value of all land and improvements (from tax bill) 6
7 Divide line 5 by line 6 7
8 Net property taxes paid 8
9 Multipy line 8 by line 7 9
10 Enter percentage of property taxes allocated to the claimant in the 10

closing agreement (or percentage of months of ownership)
11 Multiply line 9 by line 10. This is the amount of allowable property 11

taxes

Reminders

Principal dwelling means any building or portion thereof which is designed for or used for residential
purposes.

The principal dwelling must be located in Wisconsin.

When there are multiple structures on the property, the property tax allocated to the structures not
used for residential purposes does not qualify for the credit.
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Allowance for Depletion

Internal Revenue Service Treasury Regulation 81.611-1(a)(1) provides in part, "In the case of [exhaustible
natural resources other than standing timber] the allowance for depletion shall be computed upon either
the adjusted depletion basis of the property (see section 612, relating to cost depletion) or upon a
percentage of gross income from the property (see section 613, relating to percentage depletion),
whichever results in the greater allowance for depletion for any taxable year. In no case will depletion
based upon discovery value be allowed."

Section 71.98(3), as amended by 2013 WI Act 145, provides "For taxable years beginning after December
31, 2013, and for purposes of computing depletion, the Internal Revenue code means the federal Internal
Revenue code in effect for the year in which the property is placed in service." This means that a taxpayer
must use the computation allowable under the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) in effect for federal purposes
for the year in which the property is placed in service. As a result of this Act, the following applies for
Wisconsin purposes:

e Fortaxable years beginning before January 1, 2014, only cost depletion is allowable.

o For taxable years beginning after December 31, 2013, assuming there are no changes in federal
law, an allowance for depletion using the percentage depletion computation may be used, even if
the basis for cost depletion has been exhausted.

At-Risk Limitation on Form 1040, Schedule C

The department has found that some taxpayers are incorrectly marking the box on federal Form 1040
Schedule C, line 32b - "Some of the investment is not at risk." Checking this box may limit the amount of
loss you can claim on your return. Investments that are not at risk include nonrecourse loans and items
protected against loss by a guarantee (see instructions for federal Form 6198, At Risk Limitations, for a
complete list).

Make sure you are marking the correct box, line 32a - "All investment is at risk" or line 32b - "Some of the
investment is not at risk," to avoid unnecessary review by the department.

Penalty for Failure to File a Complete or Correct Schedule 2K-1, 3K-1, or 5K-1

Trusts, fiduciaries, partnerships, and tax-option (S) corporations are required to give Wisconsin Schedules
2K-1, 3K-1 or 5K-1 to their beneficiaries, partners, or shareholders and to the department as part of the
filing of the entity's tax return. If an entity fails to provide a schedule or provides an incomplete or incorrect
schedule, the entity may be subject to a $50 penalty for each schedule. This penalty is in addition to any
late filing fee that may be imposed for the entity's late-filed Wisconsin Form 2, 3, or 5S. However, the
department shall waive the penalty if the person shows the department that a violation resulted from a
reasonable cause and not from willful neglect.

Examples of when the $50 penalty may apply:

1) Trust has two beneficiaries, one is a Wisconsin resident and the other is a Florida resident. Trust files
a timely Wisconsin Form 2 with two Schedules 2K-1 attached to the return. Trust received income from
a partnership that consisted of $1,000 of ordinary business income and $100,000 of net rental real
estate income, all of which was derived in Wisconsin. The trust has no expenses of its own and
distributes the entire $101,000 to its beneficiaries. The Schedules 2K-1 report the $1,000 of ordinary
business income, but do not report the $100,000 of net rental real estate income. Trust may be subject
to a $100 penalty ($50 x 2 violations) for issuing incomplete or incorrect Schedules 2K-1.
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2) Corporation is owned by three shareholders. Corporation timely files Wisconsin Form 5S and provides
each of its shareholders with a Schedule 5K-1. However, Corporation does not provide timely
Schedules 5K-1 to the department. Corporation may be subject to a $150 penalty ($50 x 3 violations)
for not timely filing Schedules 5K-1 with the department.

Comparison of Private School Tuition Subtraction and Tuition and Fees Deduction

Topic

Private school tuition
subtraction

Tuition & fees deduction

Grade levels

Elementary and secondary

Classes at a school which qualifies as a
university, college or technical college

Income limitation for those who
claim the deduction

None

The subtraction is limited if federal
adjusted gross income exceeds certain
amounts.

Amount of deduction per
student for 2017

Up to $4,000 for elementary and
$10,000 for secondary school

Up to $6,958 (may be reduced based
upon income level)

Required dependent

Must be the claimant's child

May be the claimant, claimant's spouse, or
claimant's child

Required attachments to your

: ' Schedule PS None
Wisconsin return
Generally, the school must be located in
Does the location of the school Wisconsin. There are a few exceptions,
No such as schools in Minnesota covered

have to be in Wisconsin?

under the Minnesota-Wisconsin tuition
reciprocity agreement.

For more information on the private school tuition subtraction, see the department's common guestions at
WWW.revenue.wi.gov.

For more information on the tuition and fees deduction, see the department's common _guestions at
WWW.revenue.wi.gov.

Tips to Avoid Getting Your Form 6 Rejected

Form 6, Wisconsin Combined Corporation Franchise or Income Tax Return, must be filed
electronically. A list of vendors offering approved electronic filing software and services to meet
your electronic filing obligation is available on our website at

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/OnlineServices/corp-partnership-third-party-vendors.aspx.

File short-period returns when the tax forms are available to be electronically filed for that
year. Typically, annual tax form updates are available for electronic filing by January 31, of the
following year.

Note: Wisconsin statutes provide corporations an automatic extension of 7 months after the
unextended due date or 30 days after the federal extended due date.

File your return after you have obtained an employer federal identification number (EFIN) from the
Internal Revenue Service.

If you receive a letter from us regarding a missing or invalid prior year return, perform the corrective
action described in the letter before you submit a return for a different year.

If you encounter errors or other difficulties when submitting your return electronically, please
contact your software provider. Do not file your return on paper.
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Withholding

Withholding Tax Update Available

The November 2017 Withholding Tax Update has been posted to the department's website. Topics
covered include:

e What's New?

e Current Withholding Tax Rates Continue for 2018

e Reporting by Financial Institutions

e Wage and Information Return Report Requirements

o Data Exchange Program

e Filing Frequency Changes

e Single-Member LLCs - Are You Registered Correctly?

e Electronic Filing Reminder

e Filing Options

e Extensions

e Amended Annual Reconciliation (WT-7)

e Tips or Gratuities Received From Customers

e New Hire Reporting Requirement

e Quick Links

¢ Employees Claiming Complete Exemption From Withholding (Forms W-4 and WT-4)

e Withholding Lock-In Letters

e Reciprocity Agreements

e Retirement and Pension Payments Exempt From Income Tax Withholding

e My Tax Account Webinars

e Withholding Tax Electronic Mailing List

e Where to Direct Questions

Reciprocity Agreements

Wisconsin has reciprocity agreements with lllinois, Indiana, Kentucky, and Michigan. If you employ
residents of these states, you are not required to withhold Wisconsin income taxes from wages paid to
employees who provide you a completed Wisconsin Form W-220, Nonresident Employee’s Withholding
Reciprocity Declaration. For additional information, see Publication 121, Reciprocity.

While Wisconsin does not have a reciprocity agreement with Minnesota, there is a special withholding
arrangement for employers of Wisconsin residents working in Minnesota. Wisconsin withholding will not
be required when:

e The employee is a legal resident of Wisconsin when the wages are earned in Minnesota, and

e The wages earned by the Wisconsin resident subject to Minnesota withholding would also be
subject to Wisconsin withholding.

For additional information regarding this special withholding arrangement, visit

https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/taxpro/news-2010-100120.aspx.
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Sales/Use Tax

New Tax Rates for 2018
The following local taxes have been adopted for 2018:

o Effective January 1, 2018 — Brown County Tax
o Effective April 1, 2018 — Calumet County Tax

See Wisconsin Tax Bulletin #199 for more information.

Tax Seminars - Wisconsin/Minnesota Sales and Use Tax Basics

The Wisconsin and Minnesota Departments of Revenue will present a series of free sales and use tax
seminars in March and April 2018. The seminars will provide an overview of Minnesota and Wisconsin
sales and use tax laws for companies that do business in both states. They are designed for business
owners, bookkeepers, purchasing agents, and accountants who need a working knowledge of each state’s
laws and how to meet their obligations. Topics covered will include:

e Who needs to register for sales and use taxes in Minnesota, Wisconsin, or both states;

e What cities, counties, and other jurisdictions in each state have local taxes;

¢ What's taxable in each state;

e Exceptions to the general taxation rules and exemptions; and

¢ How and when to use or accept an exemption certificate.

Seminar dates, times, and locations, as well as registration information, is available on the Wisconsin
Department of Revenue’s Sales and Use Tax Training web page.

Sales of Amusement Devices Are Taxable

Effective December 1, 2017, a video or electronic game (tangible or digital format) sold to a person in the
business of selling admissions to amusement devices is exempt from Wisconsin sales and use tax if the
video or electronic game is used exclusively for the amusement device.

The sale of the amusement device that holds the video or electronic game is subject to Wisconsin sales
or use tax.

"Amusement device" means a single or multiplayer device, machine, or game played for amusement, the
outcome of which depends at least in part on the skill, precision, dexterity, or knowledge of the person
playing, but not predominantly on the element of chance. “Amusement device” includes a pinball machine,
console machine, crane machine, claw machine, redemption game, stacker, arcade game, foosball or
soccer table game, miniature racetrack or football machine, target or shooting gallery machine, basketball
machine, shuffleboard table, kiddie ride game, Skee-Ball machine, air hockey machine, dart board, pool
table, billiard table, or any other similar device, machine, or game. “Amusement device” does not include
any device, machine, or game that is illegal to operate within this state.
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If a sale includes both the amusement device and the video or electronic game, does the exemption apply
to both?

o If the sales invoice for the amusement device separately states the sales price of the video or
electronic game and the sales price of the amusement device, the video or electronic game is
exempt and the amusement device is taxable.

o If the sales invoice for the amusement device has one price that includes the video or electronic
game and the amusement device, the exemption does not apply and the entire charge is taxable.

Example 1: Arcade is in the business of providing taxable admission services through amusement
devices. Arcade purchases a pinball machine (i.e., amusement device). The vendor's invoice to Arcade
separately states the sales price of the pinball machine from the video game component of the pinball
machine. The charge to Arcade for the pinball machine is taxable. The charge for the video game that
is used in the pinball machine is exempt from tax because it is separately stated on the invoice.

Example 2: Distributor is in the business of providing taxable admission services through amusement
devices. Distributor owns an arcade game console (i.e., amusement device) that is placed in a tavern.
Distributor pays the owner of the tavern a commission based on the receipts Distributor receives from
customers playing trivia and other arcade games on the console. Distributor purchases a software
upgrade (i.e., electronic game) from its vendor that can be played on the console, but does not replace
the arcade game console. The charge to Distributor for the software upgrade is exempt.

Example 3: Distributor is in the business of providing taxable admission services through amusement
devices. Distributor purchases a video gambling machine that will be placed in a tavern. A commission
will be paid to the tavern based on receipts derived from the video gambling machine. Distributor's
invoice from its vendor for the video gambling machine separately states the sales price of the video
gambling machine from the electronic game that is a component of the video gambling machine. The
entire charge for the video gambling machine and the electronic game is taxable, even though the
electronic game is separately stated. The video gambling machine is not an amusement device for
purposes of this exemption, because the definition of an amusement device excludes any device,
machine, or game that is illegal to operate in Wisconsin. The operation of video gambling machines is
in violation of Wisconsin law.

For more information, see the new tax law article titled "Exemption for Video and Electronic Games Sold
to Amusement Device Operators,” published in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin #199 (pages 21-22).

Septic Installer's Article Updated - Taxable Items Less Than 10% of Total Contract
Price

The article titled Septic System Installers — Taxable Items Less Than 10% of Total Contract Price has been
updated. This article explains how Wisconsin sales and use tax applies to sales and purchases of property
and services by persons installing septic systems where the sale of taxable items by the contractor are
less than 10% of the total contract price. The updated article includes tax treatment for construction
contracts pursuant to the expansion of the lump-sum contract exemption in 2017 Wis. Act 59.
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Fireplace Installation and Repair — Sales and Use Tax Treatment

Installing a Fireplace

A contractor is making a real property improvement when selling an installed fireplace that is intended to
become a permanent part of the building. The contractor's charge to the customer is not subject to tax.
The contractor is the consumer of the materials used in making the real property improvement and must
pay sales or use tax on the fireplace unit, bricks, mortar, and other materials that become part of the
fireplace.

Selling a Freestanding Fireplace

A contractor's sale of a freestanding fireplace that does not become a permanent part of the building (e.g.,
table top unit, entertainment center insert) is the sale of tangible personal property. The contractor's total
charge to the customer, including materials and labor, is subject to sales tax. The contractor may purchase
the materials without tax, for resale, that it physically transfers to the customer in the sale of tangible
personal property.

Repairing a Fireplace

A fireplace is treated as tangible personal property for purposes of service, maintenance, cleaning, or
repair to the fireplace, regardless of whether the fireplace was a real property improvement or tangible
personal property when installed. The contractor's charge for providing the service is subject to tax. The
contractor may purchase the materials without tax, for resale, that it physically transfers to the customer.

Chimney Cleaning

Cleaning the chimney is a nontaxable service to real property. If the chimney cleaner charges a mandatory
fee to clean soot that is in the fireplace as a result of the cleaning or other service to the chimney, that fee
is part of the chimney cleaning service (i.e., not subject to tax). For example, if the chimney is scrubbed to
remove soot, and soot falls down from the chimney into the fireplace, the mandatory charge for
cleaning/removing this soot from the fireplace is part of the service of cleaning the chimney (i.e., not subject
to tax).

New "Contractor's Sales and Use Tax Resources" Web Page
A new web page for Contractors' Sales and Use Tax Resources is available on the department's Training

web page. Links to various sales and use tax resources are on this new web page, such as videos,
publications, articles and upcoming seminars.

Lump-Sum Contract Exemption vs. Construction Contract Exemption

Some contractors sell both real property improvements (not taxable) and tangible personal property
(taxable). An exemption applies for certain contracts entered into October 1, 2013 through November 30,
2017 in which the contractor sells both real property improvements and tangible personal property for one
price (“lump-sum contract exemption”). This exemption has been expanded to certain construction
contracts first entered into or extended, modified, or renewed on December 1, 2017 (“construction contract
exemption”). This article summarizes the tax treatment of the exemption.

Lump-Sum Contract Exemption (applies to contracts entered into on October 1, 2013 through November
30, 2017)
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When a contractor sells both a real property improvement and tangible personal property or taxable
services in a single contract, the contract is a lump-sum contract if the contractor quotes one price for all
of its various charges (labor, services of subcontractors, tangible personal property, items or property
under sec. 77.52(1)(b) or (c), Wis. Stats. (2015-16). A lump-sum contract may include a contract for which
the contractor itemizes its various charges as a part of a schedule of values or similar document.

The lump-sum contract exemption applies if the contractor's sales price that relates to the taxable products
and services are less than 10% of the total contract price. When the lump-sum contract exemption applies:

e The contractor's sale to its customer is not taxable.

e The contractor's purchase of materials and supplies is taxable. (See Exception, below.)

Construction Contract Exemption (first applies to contracts entered into or extended, modified, or renewed
on December 1, 2017)

The lump-sum contract exemption for contractors was expanded to include sales and purchases by
subcontractors. Sales of products and services sold by "prime contractors" and "subcontractors" as part of
a real property construction contract, which includes lump-sum and time and materials contracts, are
exempt from tax if the taxable products and services are less than 10% of the total contract price.

The construction contract exemption applies as follows:

For the "Prime Contractor"

If the taxable products and services of the prime contractor's construction contract are less than 10%
of the total contract price:
e The prime contractor's sale to its customer is not taxable.

e The prime contractor must pay sales or use tax on its purchase of materials and supplies
relating to the taxable products and services. (See Exception, below.)

In order to purchase taxable products and services without tax from the subcontractor, the prime
contractor must provide an exemption certificate to the subcontractor.

o The exemption certificate's box for "other sales exempted by law" must be checked as the
reason the purchase is exempt.

o The prime contractor should write "sec. 77.54(60), Wis. Stats." in the space provided.

o If no exemption certificate is provided by the "prime contractor" to the subcontractor, the
subcontractor must pay tax on its sales of taxable products and services sold to the prime
contractor.

e The prime contractor must pay sales or use tax on its purchase of materials and supplies
relating to the real property improvements.

For the "Subcontractor"

The construction contract exemption applies if either of the following applies:

e The prime contractor provides the subcontractor with an exemption certificate claiming the
exemption under sec. 77.54(60), Wis. Stats., OR

e The taxable products and services of the subcontractor's construction contract (includes time
and materials jobs) are less than 10% of the subcontractor’s total contract price.
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If the construction contract exemption applies to the subcontractor's contract:

o The subcontractor's sale to the prime contractor is not taxable.

e The subcontractor must pay sales or use tax on its purchase of materials and supplies relating
to the taxable products and services. (See Exception, below.)

e The subcontractor must pay sales or use tax on its purchase of materials and supplies relating
to the real property improvements.

"Construction contract” means a contract to perform real property construction activities and to provide
products.

"Prime contractor" means a contractor who enters into a construction contract with an owner or lessee of
real property, except for leased property under sec. 77.52(1)(c), Wis. Stats., to perform real property
construction activities on the real property.

"Subcontractor" means a contractor who enters into a construction contract with a prime contractor or
another subcontractor.

Exception for contracts entered into with entities that are exempt from tax under sec. 77.54(9a),
Wis. Stats.: Taxable products and services sold by a contractor as a part of a lump-sum contract or a
construction contract with an exempt entity that are not consumed in a real property construction activity
may be purchased by the contractor or subcontractor without tax, for resale. However, materials and
supplies that are consumed in a real property construction activity under a lump-sum contract or a
construction contract with any customer, including an exempt entity, may not be purchased by the
contractor or subcontractor without tax.

The article titled Septic System Installers — Taxable Items Less Than 10% of Total Contract Price explains
how Wisconsin sales and use tax applies to sales and purchases of property and services by persons
installing septic systems where the sale of taxable items by the contractor are less than 10% of the total
contract price.

Are Shipping and Handling Charges Subject to Sales and Use Tax?

When a seller charges a purchaser for the delivery of taxable tangible personal property, the seller’s total
charge, including any transportation and service charges, is subject to the sales or use tax. The tax
treatment does not change whether the delivery is made by the seller’s vehicle, a common or contract
carrier, or the United States Postal Service.

If a shipment contains both taxable and nontaxable property, the seller must make a reasonable allocation
of the shipping charges attributable to the taxable and nontaxable property. The portion attributable to the
nontaxable property is not subject to tax. If no allocation is made, the entire shipping charge is taxable.

Did You Shop Online For the Holidays? You May Owe Use Tax

You may have purchased an item from an e-commerce or mail-order company that did not charge
Wisconsin sales tax. Only companies that are engaged in business in Wisconsin are required to collect tax
on their sales shipped to Wisconsin addresses. However, this does not mean that your purchase is exempt
from tax.

Use tax is due on purchases of taxable products and services when the seller does not collect the tax and
no exemption applies. If you purchase taxable products or services from sellers who do not collect the tax,
or if you purchase taxable products or services in another state or a foreign country, you owe Wisconsin
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use tax when you store, use, or consume that product or service in Wisconsin. If you do not pay the use
tax, you may be assessed interest and penalties in addition to the tax.
Individuals may report use tax due in either of the following ways:

1. On their Wisconsin income tax return (Form 1, 1A, WI-Z, or 1INPR). A line entitled “Sales and use
tax due on out-of-state purchases” on Wisconsin income tax returns allows individuals to report
their annual use tax liability.

2. On aquarterly Form UT-5, Wisconsin Consumer Use Tax Return.
Businesses may report use tax due on their Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Return (Form ST-12) or by

using the Wisconsin Consumer Use Tax Return (Form UT-5).
Further information is available on the department's website under Common Questions for Use Tax.

Electronic Records Requested During Audits

The department often utilizes a taxpayer's electronic records to conduct a more efficient audit for both the
taxpayer and the department. Generally, the taxpayer must provide electronic records to the auditor when
requested.

Electronic records include data files and information from accounting, enterprise, and Point-of-Sale
software applications. Some commonly known examples include QuickBooks, Sage, Oracle, SAP, Micros,
and Square.

The Internal Revenue Service has published a list of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about providing
electronic records, which is available at htips://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-
employed/use-of-electronic-accounting-software-records-frequently-asked-questions-and-answers. The
guidance provided in these FAQs applies to department audits as well.

The department has authority to request records from taxpayers under secs. 71.74(2), 73.03(9), and
77.59(2), Wis. Stats. (2015-16). Wisconsin statutes provide for a penalty when a taxpayer does not provide
the records requested (secs. 71.74(2), 73.03(9), 77.59(2), 71.80(9m), and 77.61(19), Wis. Stats. (2015-
16)). Rules to administer these penalties are provided in secs. Tax 2.85 and 11.90, Wis. Adm. Code. These
rules note that "records" include electronic records.

If complete and accurate records are not maintained, gross receipts, purchases, deductions, and
exemptions may be determined by the department through reconstruction or other methods.

Lodging Marketplace License

Under 2017 Wisconsin Act 59, a lodging marketplace that offers short-term residential lodging must
register with the Wisconsin Department of Revenue for a license to collect sales and use taxes and to
collect room taxes imposed by a Wisconsin municipality if the marketplace has nexus with Wisconsin. A
lodging marketplace required to register for a license must also register for a Wisconsin seller's permit if it
does not have a Wisconsin seller's permit.

“Lodging marketplace” means an entity that provides a platform through which an unaffiliated 3rd party
offers to rent a short-term rental to an occupant and collects the consideration for the rental from the
occupant.

The application for a lodging marketplace license is available on our website along with a listing of
licensees. See the lodging marketplace license common guestions for examples.
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Occasional Sales of Business Assets - New Fact Sheet

A new fact sheet for occasional sales of business assets has been posted to the department's website.
Fact Sheet 2110, Occasional Sales of Business Assets, explains the occasional sale exemption for the
sale of business assets by businesses who hold a seller's permit.

Other

Access 2017 Form 1099-G Online

Taxpayers have online access to their 2017 Form 1099-G. The majority of State of Wisconsin taxpayers
have elected to receive an email that their 1099-G is available online. Those that have not agreed to
receive electronic notifications continue to receive paper copies. All paper copies will be sent out before
the end of January.

Taxpayers are advised to access their 1099-G online, print a copy and give the form to their tax preparer
with the rest of their tax documents as this information is required with their federal return. Taxpayers can
access 1099-G information online for years 2014 through 2017. The taxpayer can go online and print a
1099-G copy at: Form 1099-G - Certain Government Payments.

Please note that for security purposes the address is not printed on the online printable form, but is on the
1099-G that goes to the Internal Revenue Service.

My Tax Account - Update
What is changing?

On September 11, 2017, the department changed its online tax account management platform. My Tax
Account has a new responsive web design making it mobile-friendly, more intuitive, and easier to use.
Although My Tax Account has a new appearance, account access and the tax filing process generally
remains the same.

Log into your My Tax Account to familiarize yourself with the updated look. We also updated the My Tax
Account videos on our website to assist you with the new appearance and features.
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Tax Releases

“Tax Releases” are designed to provide answers to the specific tax questions covered, based on the facts
indicated. In situations where the facts vary from those in a tax release, the answers may not apply. Unless
otherwise indicated, tax releases apply for all periods open to adjustment, and all references to section
numbers are to the Wisconsin Statutes. (Caution: Tax releases reflect the position of the Wisconsin
Department of Revenue, of laws enacted by the Wisconsin Legislature as of the date published in this
Bulletin. Laws enacted after that date, new administrative rules, and court decisions may change the
answers in a tax release.)

Sales and Use Tax

Statute of Limitations When Person Reports Use Tax on a Specialized Return

Statutes: Sections 77.58(3), and 77.59(3) and (8), Wis. Stats. (2015-16)

Note: This tax release supersedes the tax release titled “Statute of Limitations When Person Reports Use
Tax on Individual Income Tax Return” that appeared in Wisconsin Tax Bulletin #79 (October 1992), page
23.

Background:

Use Tax Liability - Section 77.58(3)(a), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), provides that every person who purchases
taxable products and/or services that are stored, used, or consumed in Wisconsin, and who has not paid the
tax due to a retailer required to collect the tax, must file a return to report the tax.

Specialized Forms - While a person's sales and use tax liability is generally reported on Form ST-12,
Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Return, (or the electronic equivalent) certain specialized forms may be used to
report use tax. These specialized forms are treated as sales and use tax returns.

A person who does not hold a seller's permit, use tax registration certificate, or consumer use tax registration
certificate may report Wisconsin use tax on one of the following specialized forms:
e Form UT-5, Consumer Use Tax Return

e That person's individual income tax return (Form 1, 1A, WI-Z, or INPR)
Other examples of specialized returns where use tax can be reported are:
e Form MF-001, Fuel Tax Refund Claim — Department of Revenue (DOR) form for persons filing refund

claims for Wisconsin fuel taxes paid on fuel used in an exempt manner.

e Form MV-1 and Form MV-11 — Department of Transportation (DOT) forms used for occasional and
dealer sales of motor vehicles, recreational vehicles as defined in sec. 340.01(48r), Wis. Stats., trailers,
and semi-trailers.

e Form DT 1556 — DOT form for occasional and dealer sales of aircraft.

e Form 9400-193 — Department of Natural Resources (DNR) form for occasional and dealer sales of
boats.

e Form 9400-210 — A DNR form for occasional and dealer sales of snowmobiles.
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e Form 9400-376 — A DNR form for occasional and dealer sales of all-terrain vehicles and utility terrain
vehicles.

e Form 9400-609 - A DNR form for occasional and dealer sales of off-highway motorcycles.

Statute of Limitations — for Audit Determination

When a Return Has Been Filed - Section 77.59(3), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), provides that the department may
make a determination of a person's sales and use tax liability if the department provides written notice to that
person within four years after the due date of that person's income or franchise tax return or, if exempt, within
four years of the 15" day of the 4™ month of the year following the close of the calendar year or fiscal year.

When a Return Has Not Been Filed - Section 77.59(8), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), provides that if a person fails
to file a report or return to report Wisconsin sales or use tax required, the department may determine the
proper tax due at any time and without regard to when such failure occurred.

The filing of a specialized use tax return is the filing of a sales and use tax return under sec. 77.59(3), Wis.
Stats. However, while the filing of a specialized use tax return triggers the four-year statute of limitations for
the tax reported on that return, it does not trigger the four-year statute of limitations for any other sales
and/or use tax returns required to be filed under Chapter 77, Wis. Stats.

Example 1: Individual has a Schedule C business (i.e., is a sole proprietor of a business) and has an
income tax filing requirement in Wisconsin. The Schedule C business makes sales that are subject to
Wisconsin sales tax, and Individual has a quarterly requirement to file Form ST-12, Wisconsin Sales and
Use Tax Return, or its electronic equivalent.

Individual purchased a motor vehicle and reported use tax on the Form MV-1 filed with the DOT.
Individual also reported use tax from Internet purchases on the Form 1 filed with DOR. Individual did not
file Form ST-12.

e The department has four years from the due date of Individual's income tax return or four years
from the date that the Form MV-1 was filed, whichever is later, to issue a determination of sales
or use tax liability for tax for the period covered by that return (i.e., Form MV-1).

e The department has four years from the due date of Individual's income tax return to issue a
determination of sales or use tax liability for tax for the period covered by that return (i.e., Form
1).

e The department may at any time determine the proper tax due on Form ST-12 (i.e., there is no
statute of limitations for returns that have not been filed).

Example 2: Corporation operates a business in Wisconsin, files Wisconsin franchise tax forms, and has
a monthly requirement to file Form ST-12, Wisconsin Sales and Use Tax Return, or its electronic
equivalent.

Corporation filed a Form MF-001, Fuel Tax Refund Claim, for a refund of excise taxes paid on fuel used
in its generator and other off-road machinery. Use tax for the fuel was reported on Form MF-001.
Corporation did not file Form ST-12.

e The department has four years from the due date of Corporation's franchise tax return or four
years from the date that the Form MF-001 was filed, whichever is later, to issue a determination
of sales or use tax liability for tax for the period covered by that return (i.e., Form MF-001).

e The department may at any time determine the proper tax due on Form ST-12 (i.e., there is no

statute of limitations for returns that have not been filed).
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Short-term Leases of Taxis Are Subject to State Rental Vehicle Fee and Local Rental Car
Tax

Statutes: Sections 77.51(7), 77.52(1)(a) and (1b), 77.995(2), and 77.99, Wis. Stats. (2015-16).

Applicable Wisconsin Statutes:
Section 77.995(2), Wis. Stats., imposes the 5% state rental vehicle fee:

"There is imposed a fee at the rate of 5 percent of the sales price on the rental, but not for rerental
and not for rental as a service or repair replacement vehicle of Type 1 automobiles, as defined in
s. 340.01 (4) (a); of recreational vehicles, as defined in s. 340.01 (48r); of motor homes, as defined
in s. 340.01 (33m); and of camping trailers, as defined in s. 340.01 (6m) by establishments primarily
engaged in short-term rental of vehicles without drivers, for a period of 30 days or less, unless the
sale is exempt from the sales tax under s. 77.54 (1), (4), (7) (a), (7m) or (9a). There is also imposed
a fee at the rate of 5 percent of the sales price on the rental of limousines."

Section 77.99, Wis. Stats., imposes the 3% local exposition rental car tax on certain vehicle rentals in
Milwaukee County:

"A local exposition district under subch. Il of ch. 229 may impose a tax at the rate of 3 percent of
the sales price on the rental, but not for rerental and not for rental as a service or repair replacement
vehicle, within the district's jurisdiction under s. 229.43, of Type 1 automobiles, as defined in s.
340.01 (4) (a), by establishments primarily engaged in short-term rental of passenger cars without
drivers, for a period of 30 days or less, unless the sale is exempt from the sales tax under s. 77.54
1), 4), (7) (&), (Tm), (9) or (9a). If the state makes a payment under s. 229.50 (7) to a district's
special debt service reserve fund, a majority of the district's authorized board of directors may vote
to increase the tax rate under this subchapter to 4 percent. A resolution to adopt the taxes imposed
under this section, or an increase in the tax rate, shall be effective on the first January 1, April 1,
July 1, or October 1 following the adoption of the resolution or tax increase."

Background: A taxicab company may either hire drivers as employees, or contract with independent
drivers and lease its taxicabs to those drivers. The sales price for the lease is subject to Wisconsin sales
or use tax, regardless of the method in which the lease price is paid to the taxicab company. The sales
price for the lease may also be subject to county and stadium taxes. In Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 193 (April
2016), the article titled, "Taxis Leased to Drivers are Subject to Sales Tax," addressed the sales and use
tax treatment.

In addition to sales and use tax, a taxicab company's lease or rental may also be subject to the 5% state
rental vehicle fee and the 3% local exposition rental car tax (in Milwaukee County). The state rental vehicle
fee and local exposition rental car tax are imposed on an establishment whose primary business is the
rental or lease of certain vehicles without drivers for 30 days or less. Therefore, when a taxicab company
receives more than 50% of its receipts from its short-term rental of vehicles to independent drivers, the
company's short-term rental receipts are subject to the state rental vehicle fee (and the local exposition
rental car tax if the lease or rental takes place in Milwaukee County), in addition to the sales tax.

Example 1: A taxicab company employs drivers and also offers a taxicab lease option for drivers who
choose to work as independent contractors. The majority of the company's receipts are derived from
transportation services provided by its employees.

The taxicab company's primary business is transportation services, not the rental or lease of taxicabs
without drivers for 30 days or less. Therefore, the taxicab company's receipts are not subject to the state
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rental vehicle fee or the local exposition rental car tax. The following taxes apply to the sales price of the
taxicab leases:

e 5% Wisconsin state sales tax, and

¢ County and stadium sales tax, when applicable.

Example 2: A taxicab company owns a fleet of taxicabs that it leases to independent drivers. The taxicab
company has no other business operations other than leasing the taxicabs to drivers for periods of 30 days
or less.

The taxicab company's primary business is the lease of taxicabs without drivers for 30 days or less. The
following taxes and fees apply to the sales price of the taxicab leases:

e 5% Wisconsin state sales tax,
e County and stadium sales tax, when applicable,
e 5% state rental vehicle fee, and

o 3% local exposition rental car tax (if in Milwaukee County).

Example 3: Ataxicab company owns a fleet of taxicabs that it leases to independent drivers. The taxicab
company only leases its taxicabs to drivers for periods of more than 30 days. The state rental vehicle fee
does not apply, since the taxicab company's primary business is not the rental or lease of taxicabs without
drivers for 30 days or less. The following taxes apply to the sales price of the taxicab leases:

e 5% Wisconsin state sales tax, and

e County and stadium sales tax based, when applicable.
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Private Letter Rulings

“Private letter rulings” are written statements issued to a taxpayer by the department, that interpret
Wisconsin tax laws based on the taxpayer’s specific set of facts. Any taxpayer may rely upon the ruling to
the extent the facts are the same as those in the ruling.

The ruling number is interpreted as follows: The “W” is for “Wisconsin’; the first four digits are the year and
week the ruling becomes available for publication (80 days after it is issued to the taxpayer); the last three
digits are the number in the series of rulings issued that year. The date is the date the ruling was issued.

Certain information that could identify the taxpayer has been deleted. Additional information is available in
Wisconsin Publication 111, “How to Get a Private Letter Ruling From the Wisconsin Department of
Revenue.”

Sales and Use Tax
Membership Subscription Fees
Ruling Number: W1736002

June 20, 2017

Facts as Provided

Company A sells membership subscriptions to its robust online legal practice support services (hereinafter
the "Membership") for duly licensed attorneys and their staff members who are authorized users
(hereinafter the "Members"). Members gain access to the Membership by logging in through a
Membership portal at Company A's website with unique Member identification and password credentials.
Members do not need to download any software to their local computers or servers to gain access to their
Membership. Many of the Membership features reside on a computer server or servers maintained by
Company A and Company A hosts such features in the cloud. Memberships consist of two varieties:
Business Law and Trust & Estates. The services described below are specialized to each of the varieties.
Company A invoices Members a single, nonitemized fee for the Membership.

A. The Services

Both Business Law and Trusts & Estates subscriptions provide Members access to three primary
categories of services: education, legal document drafting software tools, and an interactive
community to communicate with other Members.

1. Education Resources

The education resources consist of in-person and online continuing legal education (ordinarily
known as CLE for attorneys) and business education like marketing and leadership. For both in-
person and online CLE courses, licensed attorneys comprise the faculty who author or present the
materials. In-person CLE events are typically three to four day conferences with featured speakers,
workshops, and panel discussions. Online CLE is an online library of blogs, downloadable articles,
hosted articles, and recorded webinars.
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2. Document Drafting Tools

Legal document drafting tools are cloud-hosted, delivered through a software-as-a-service (SaaS)
platform. Members of the Business Law subscription may draft various transactional documents
from Company A templates including without limitation, Operating Agreements, Purchase and Sale
Agreements, Lease Agreements, Partnership Formation Agreements and Bylaws. Members of the
Trust & Estates subscription may draft estate planning documents from Company A templates
including without limitation, Wills, Revocable Living Trusts, Durable Powers of Attorney, Pour-Over
Wills, and Approval/Rejecting of Accounting.

Once a member selects a template document, each document draft begins with an "interview." The
interview involves the Member selecting the structure, standard terms, and clauses according to
the Member's client's needs which will manipulate the document. For instance, if the Member is
drafting a Revocable Living Trust, the Member may choose to include substantive provisions
regarding the Generation Skipping Tax. Such a selection will alter the navigation of the interview
and the structure of the document. Members may select pronouns or other identifiers when
referring to the Trustee or Grantor. The selections the Member makes in the interview will populate
throughout the document.

Upon completing these selections, the interview will produce a document for the Member to review
in a Document Preview screen. Thereafter, the Member may review and further customize the
document to his or her requirements before exporting the document as a downloadable Microsoft
Word file. Thus, while any given document begins as a template, the final document is customized
to each Member's client's needs.

While it is only a small part of the document drafting tool, Members may download and install the
Company A ribbon into their word-processor to properly assemble the document they drafted. To
download the ribbon, Members must log into the Company A Membership portal, navigate to the
support page and click on Downloads. Once the ribbon is downloaded, the user can install it locally
or on a network. When the ribbon is installed, it formats the document drafted by using Company
A software in the way that the Member has chosen by running macros when the document is
opened. Unless the ribbon is installed, the document will not be properly formatted through
Microsoft Word.

Company A's employees and contractors update and modify both the Business Law and Trusts &
Estate subscriptions document libraries consistent with legal developments, new strategies, and
increased flexibility through the addition of options and to correct bugs or other errors. In addition,
new documents may be developed that expand the scope of the content sets. Company A's group
of subject matter experts and programmers work together to produce the interview questions and
document language, and to program the new or revised material. They are assisted by product
managers, who help determine priorities and the content support manager who works with
Members to determine whether there are problems with the systems that need to be corrected.
Currently, nine full time employees are in this group, but Company A has several open positions at
this time. Company A also employs contractors from time to time who may perform style editing,
programming, and or testing.

The subject matter experts, the product managers and the manager of the programming team all
have law degrees. The content support manager and one of the programmers are paralegals.
Legal research resources are frequently consulted during the editorial process, and Company A
also reaches out regularly to other experts. Ideally, the team spends the vast majority of their
working hours producing minor releases and major enhancements. Testing is done at several
stages of the enhancement process, and for final testing Company A may request assistance from
other Company A employees outside of the Content Team, as well as bring in contractors to assist.

29
Back to Table of Contents



Wisconsin Tax Bulletin 200 — January 2018

3. Interactive Community

Memberships provide Members with access to network of nearly 5,000 licensed attorneys
nationwide. Upon accessing their Memberships through the login portal, Members' landing pages
notify them to Community Updates and Upcoming Events. Members utilize one another as
resources through online groups and forums through their Memberships. Members post in topical
threads on a forum to consult other Members with relevant expertise.

The online groups provide Members with a virus/malware free communication platform where
Members can ask questions, discuss important issues and changes within the law, strategize on
best practices, learn about upcoming in-person forum events, share articles, documents, and
materials, and get help from the Company A Team, if needed. Features of the online community
include access to specialized groups (state, topical, general membership, referral, etc.), document
sharing, upcoming virtual or in-person events, customized viewing (ability to hide threads), and
access to information that has been shared previously (archives).

Company A understands the important contributions that in-person and virtual state and topical
forums provide Members. Company A provides marketing, event registration, coaching, and
administrative support for all forums. Through Company A's Forum Resource Guide, Company A
shares best practices, ideas for organizing and managing a successful forum, and important
resources compiled from the experiences of other forums.

Each Company A forum has an online community group. This allows the group to continue their
conversations and collegiality outside of their meetings. They use these groups to post questions,
discuss ideas, plan and promote upcoming events, and share documents and articles.

B. Governing Documents

The Membership Agreement (the "Agreement") governs Memberships. In addition, the Agreement
incorporates the End User License Agreement ("EULA") by reference in paragraph 4. The EULA
expressly applies to the document drafting software portion of Memberships.

1. Critical Membership Agreement Provisions

Section 2 of the Agreement, Membership Subscription, expressly makes clear that a Membership
is not limited to legal document drafting software: "Member desires to subscribe to, and Company
A agrees to provide to Member, the following membership subscription together with all software,
content, tools, materials, community forum, and other features of the membership subscription...",
all is described on the Company A website located at

Section 4 of the Agreement incorporates the EULA by reference.
2. Critical EULA Provisions

Section 1 grants Members a license to access Memberships, Section 2 sets forth the Membership
benefits detailed in Section I.A-C. Section 3 prohibits Members from using the document drafting
tools in a fashion similar to legal document producing services like legalzoom.com. Section 4
describes that access to Memberships on Company A maintained servers may be gained through
the Membership portal, and that the access is limited to the right to use the Membership. In
addition, Section 4 expressly provides that Members may gain access to Memberships through a
downloadable version, but that it is not necessary to gain access to Memberships. Section 6
expressly reserves ownership and title to the Membership to Company A, title never passes to
Members.
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Ruling Reguested by You

Question: Is Company A's Membership subscription fee subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax?

Answer 1: The membership subscription is the sale of a bundled transaction and is subject to Wisconsin
sales and use tax as provided in sec. 77.52(20)(a), Wis. Stats. (2015-16). The subscription includes both
taxable and nontaxable products for one nonitemized price. If Company A can identify, by reasonable and
verifiable standards from its books and records, the portion of each subscription's sales price that is
attributable to products that are not subject to tax (e.g., live webinars and conferences, Software as a
Service, access to online database), Company A has the option to remit sales tax on the portion of the
sales price of each membership subscription that represents the taxable products, as provided in sec.
77.52(20)(b), Wis. Stats. (2015-16).

Exception: If Company A's purchase price and sales price of the taxable products (e.g.,
prerecorded webinars, prewritten computer software, videos, articles and newsletters that are news
or other information) are 10% or less than the total purchase price and sales price, then the
subscription fee is not subject to Wisconsin sales and use tax; however, Company A is required to
pay Wisconsin sales or use tax on its purchase price of the taxable products included in the
transaction.

Analysis

The entire sales price of a bundled transaction is subject to tax pursuant to sec. 77.52(20)(a), Wis. Stats. (2015-
16). Since the membership subscription includes both taxable and nontaxable products for one nonitemized
price, the sale of the membership subscription is a "bundled transaction.”

"Product” includes taxable products and services. (Section 77.51(11d), Wis. Stats. (2015-16))

"Bundled transactions" are defined in sec. 77.51(1f), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), in part, as "...the retail sale of
2 or more products, not including real property and services to real property, if the products are distinct
and identifiable products and sold for one nonitemized price." A "bundled transaction" does not include, in
part, "...a transaction that includes taxable and nontaxable products, if the seller's purchase price or the sales
price of the taxable products is no greater than 10 percent of the seller's total purchase price or sales price of
all the bundled products, as determined by the seller using either the seller's purchase price or sales price, but
not a combination of both..."

Section 77.52(20)(b), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), provides, in part, "[a]t the retailer's option, if the retailer can identify,

by reasonable and verifiable standards from the retailer's books and records that are kept in the ordinary

course of its business for other purposes, including purposes unrelated to taxes, the portion of the price

that is attributable to products that are not subject to the tax imposed under this subchapter, that portion

of the sales price is not taxable under this subchapter..."

When purchasing Company A's Membership subscription, the customer receives three primary products:
1. Education Resources

2. Document Drafting Tools

3. Interactive Community
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1. Education Resources

While educational services, by themselves, are not subject to Wisconsin sales tax, sales of certain digital
goods in Wisconsin are subject to Wisconsin sales tax. Therefore, the education resources available as
part of a membership include both taxable and nontaxable products:

e Nontaxable products include live in-person conferences and live online classes or seminars.

e Taxable products include access to specified digital goods, such as recorded videos of courses,
whether downloaded or viewed online and access to additional digital goods, such as newsletters
and articles.

Section 77.52(1)(d), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), provides that "[a] tax is imposed on all retailers at the rate of 5
percent of the sales price from the sales, lease, license, or rental of specified digital goods and additional
digital goods at retail for the right to use the specified digital goods or additional digital goods on a
permanent or less than permanent basis and regardless of whether the purchaser is required to make
continued payments for such right."

"Specified digital goods" are defined in sec. 77.51(17x), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), to mean "digital audio
works, digital audiovisual works, and digital books."

"Digital audiovisual works" are defined in sec. 77.51(3p), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), to mean "a series of
related images that, when shown in succession, impart an impression of motion, along with
accompanying sounds, if any, and that are transferred electronically. 'Digital audiovisual works'
includes motion pictures, musical videos, news and entertainment programs, and live events, but does
not include video greeting cards or video or electronic games."

"Digital audio works" are defined in sec. 77.51(3pa), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), to mean "works that result
from the fixation of a series of musical, spoken, or other sounds that are transferred electronically,
including prerecorded or live music, prerecorded or live readings of books or other written materials,
prerecorded or live speeches, ringtones, or other sound recordings but not including audio greeting
cards sent by electronic mail."

"Transferred electronically” is defined in sec. 77.51(21q), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), to mean "accessed or
obtained by the purchaser by means other than tangible storage media."

"Additional digital goods" are defined in sec. 77.51(1a)(a), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), to mean, "all of the
following if they are transferred electronically:

1. Greeting cards.
2. Finished artwork.
3. Periodicals.
4. Video or electronic games.
5. Newspapers or other news or information products.”
"Other news or information products” refers to products that disseminate news. "News" is defined in

The American Heritage Diction of English Language, fourth edition (2006), as: "Information about
recent events or happenings, especially as reported by newspapers, periodicals, radio, or television."
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2. Document Drafting Tools

The document drafting tools provided with the membership include access to a nontaxable software as a
service platform. After the member enters all the pertinent information and the data is processed, the
member is able to download a completed legal document. The completed legal document is transferred
electronically to the member and is, therefore, a digital good. However it is not a digital good that is subject
to tax, since it does not meet the definition of a "specified digital good" or "additional digital good," as
described above. Section 77.52(1)(d), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), only imposes tax on specified digital goods
and additional digital goods.

The document drafting tools service also provides members the option to download and install a ribbon into
their word-processor. The ribbon meets the definition of prewritten computer software and is subject to
Wisconsin sales and use tax.

"Prewritten computer software" is defined in sec. 77.51(10r), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), and provides in part,
"computer software, including prewritten upgrades, that is not designed and developed by the author or
other creator to the specifications of a specific purchaser..."

"Tangible personal property" is defined in sec. 77.51(20), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), to mean, "personal property
that can be seen, weighed, measured, felt, or touched, or that is in any other manner perceptible to the
senses, and includes electricity, gas, steam, water, and prewritten computer software."

Section 77.52(1)(a), Wis. Stats. (2015-16) imposes a sales tax on the sale, license, lease, or rental of
tangible personal property.

3. Interactive Community

The interactive community service that is provided with the membership allows members to communicate
with each other and share documents and materials. These services are taxable telecommunication
services, as provided in sec. 77.52(2)(a)5.am, Wis. Stats. (2015-16), or taxable telecommunications
messaging services, as provided in sec. 77.52(2)(a)5m, Wis. Stats. (2015-16).

"Telecommunications services" are defined in sec. 77.51(21n), Wis. Stats. (2015-16) and provides, in
part, "electronically transmitting, conveying, or routing voice, data, audio, video, or other information or
signals to a point or between or among points..."

Section 77.52(2)(a)5.am, Wis. Stats. (2015-16), provides, in part, that the sale of "...intrastate,
interstate, and international telecommunications service..." are subject to Wisconsin sales and use tax.

Section 77.52(2)(a)bm, Wis. Stats. (2015-16), provides that the service of recording
telecommunications messages and transmitting them to the purchaser of the service or at that
purchaser's direction is a service subject to Wisconsin sales and use tax.

When multiple people in a group can communicate through a communications platform to others in the
group, taxable telecommunications services are being provided (i.e., the interfacing allows
communications to be electronically transmitted , conveyed, or routed to other members within the
group). Additionally, when messages are sent from one member to another (e.g., email, messaging,
chatting, a telecommunications message service is being provided, since the platform receives a
telecommunications message, records it, and transmits it at the direction of the sender/customer.

As provided in sec. 77.52(20)(b), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), above, if Company A is able to identify, by
reasonable and verifiable standards, the portion of each membership subscription that relates to the
sale of nontaxable products, Company A may choose to make an allocation of the taxable and
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nontaxable portion of a customer's membership subscription fee. However, if Company A chooses not
to or is unable to make this allocation, the total sales price of the membership subscription is subject
to tax.

Installation of Custom Closet Organizer
Ruling Number: W1738004
June 30, 2017

Facts as Provided

A customer of Company A designs a custom closet solution at Company A's retail location with the help of
Company A's employee. The closet solution is customized based on the customer's specifications and
tastes and includes all materials necessary to complete installation of the closet. Essential materials
include top track, standards, brackets, wall anchors and screws. Upon completion of the design phase, the
customer is given the option to select installation by Company A.

Generally, customers have three options for installing the custom closet solution purchased from Company
A: self-installation, installation by their own contractor, or engaging Company A for the installation.
Customers have chosen Company A to install on average 30 percent of all closet solutions sold over the
past three years.

If installation by Company A is selected, Company A's employee helps the customer select an installation
date using Company A's website that shows the availability of independent contractors used by Company
A. Upon completion of scheduling, the customer is provided a quote for installation based on 25 percent
of the sales price of the custom closet. The customer is also given the option of having Company A deliver
components of the closet to be installed for an additional delivery fee.

There will be a single swipe of the credit card for both the closet solution and the installation. The products
will be charged for at the time of sale and the installation would be charged when the product is installed.

Should the customer choose not to have the closet installed by Company A at this time, the customer may
use Company A's website, Company A's phone at their retail locations or Company A's retail location to
inquire about installation at any time in the future. By providing the location where the closet was
purchased along with the order ID, the customer will receive a call back from Company A to schedule the
installation. A quote for the installation is provided to the customer at that time.

Vendor is a brand of organizational products sold by Company A. Specifically, Vendor products are
component-based products that can be used individually or paired with other Vendor components and/or
components manufactured by third parties to create customized storage solutions based on a customer's
needs.

The majority of Vendor components are designed to hang from standards that may be attached to walls,
doors or any other structure. Vendor brand standards can be directly attached with screws or hung from
a European style top track. Company A sells Vendor standards in lengths of 20, 36, 60, or 84 inches and
Vendor top tracks in lengths of 32, 56, or 80 inches. Screws and other hardware required to mount
standards and top tracks are also available for sale by Company A.

Company A does not purchase pre-designed or pre-assembled closets from Vendor. All product
purchased from Vendor comes pre-packaged and is tagged by Company A for individual sale. While they
obviously function best with other Vendor components, Vendor brackets, top tracks, drawers, etc. may be
paired with third-party products or used on their own should the customer desire. While third-pasty
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components may be used with Vendor and vice versa, Company A's customers tend to purchase Vendor
components based on their superior construction and name recognition.

To enhance sales of Vendor products, Company A offers a free service by which a customer may organize
her closet on her own or with the assistance of Company A employees using actual measurements from
the customer's home. This involves entering the customer's specifications into a computer terminal at
Company A's retail store or online. The customer then selects which Vendor components best suit her
needs and where to place them. Upon completion of the process, a complete list of Vendor components
selected by the customer is printed, and the individual components are pulled from the shelf or the stock
room by the customer and/or Company A employees. The purchase of individual components is reflected
on the customer's receipt.

The component-based nature of Vendor, coupled with Company A's return policy, allow the customer to
add, modify or remove components at will. The ability of the customer to easily place components for their
intended use is vital in that over half of the component layouts designed by customers are self-installed by
the customer. For example, a customer can switch between a gliding pant rack, a drawer, or a hanging
rod in the same space in just minutes.

For the customer who chooses not to self-install, Company A offers installation services for a fee based
on a percentage of the customer's Vendor component purchase price. Company A uses independent
contractors to perform the installation and is liable for any issues with performance.

For further clarification, the installation performed by taxpayer is identical to those performed by the
customer during self-installations and involves placing each individual component for its intended use. As
an example, the installation steps are detailed below of track mounted components as those generally the
most common type of installations performed.

1. The installer places and attaches top track in the selected area. The top track is attached to the
wall using screws purchased by the customer. The number of screws depends on the length of
the top track.

2. The next components placed are standards which are hung from the top track via a notch in the
standard. The length and quality of standards were selected by the customer during the design
phase and are determined by what the customer wants.

3. The remaining components are placed on standards using brackets. As in the case with all other
components, brackets are sold separately. Similar to standards, the number of brackets required
depends on the type and quantity of components being placed. As the customer adds, removes
or modifies components in the future, brackets can be added or removed in a matter of seconds.

4. The remaining individual components are placed at the customer's discretion. Solid shelving, wire
shelving, drawers, and pant racks are placed using brackets. Hanging rods are placed using closet
rod holders attached to brackets.

Question: Are Company A's sales of closet solutions, including installation and delivery charges, taxable
as the sale of tangible personal property (i.e., subject to tax)?

Answer: The sale of uninstalled closet components is subject to tax as the sale of tangible personal
property. Company A may purchase the closet components that it sells uninstalled without tax, for resale.

The sale of an installed closet system (including shelves, racks, brackets, drawers, hooks, standards, and
screws) in a residential facility is a real property construction activity. Although some of the components
are interchangeable, the closet is permanently affixed to the real estate when the track is screwed into the
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real estate. Charges by Company A to its customer for installation (including materials, labor, and delivery)
is not subject to tax; however, Company A must pay tax on the purchase of materials consumed in the real
property construction, as provided in sec. 77.51(2), Wis. Stats. (2015-16), which deems contractors the
consumers of those materials.

If the closet system is installed in a commercial building, a determination must be made whether the closet
system serves a building function (e.g., coat closet) or a business or process function (e.g., retail sales
rack).

¢ The installation of the closet organizer for use in carrying on a trade or business (but not in
apartment buildings, convalescent homes, or other residential buildings), is considered the
installation of tangible personal property and the charge to the customer including materials,
delivery, and installation is subject to tax, unless an exemption applies. Company A may purchase
the closet component without tax, for resale.

e The installation of the closet organizer that serves a building function is a real property construction
activity. The sale of a real property improvement is not taxable to the customer, but Company A
must pay tax on its purchase of materials consumed in the real property construction activity.

When a customer picks up the Vendor components at the store and schedules installation, the sale is real
property. The sale to the customer is not subject to tax, and Company A is the consumer of the materials
used in making the real property improvement and must pay tax on its purchase of such materials.

When the customer picks up the Vendor components at Company A and does not schedule installation,
the sale is tangible personal property. The sale to the customer is taxable, and Company A may purchase
the Vendor components without tax for resale.

If the customer picks up the Vendor components at Company A's retail location and does not schedule
installation, but later chooses to have the property installed as a real property improvement, as described
above, Company A must give the customer a refund or credit for the tax previously paid. Company A's
purchase of the Vendor components is subject to tax, since Company A is making a real property
improvement. Company A may not purchase Vendor components without tax, for resale, that it uses in
making a real property improvement, regardless of whether Company A knew at the time that the customer
originally purchased the materials that Company A would be installing the materials. When Company A
installs materials in a real property construction activity and Company A is an owner or former owner of
the materials, Company A is liable for sales or use tax on its purchase of such materials. This tax treatment
is consistent with the Wisconsin Court of Appeals October 10, 1983 decision in the case of Rice Insulation,
Inc. v. Wisconsin Department of Revenue 115 Wis. 2d 513 (CCH 202-285), which held that a subcontractor
who sold insulation to an exempt entity without Wisconsin sales tax and who installed the insulation under
a contract with a general contractor was the consumer of the insulation used in real property construction
activity, and the sale of the insulation to the subcontractor was subject to Wisconsin sales or use tax.
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